# Meeting of the States Parties to the Convention on the Prohibition of the Development, Production and Stockpiling of Bacteriological (Biological) and Toxin Weapons and on Their Destruction

4 December 2018

Original: English

2018 Meeting Geneva, 4-7 December 2018 Item 9 of the provisional agenda Annual report of the Implementation Support Unit

# Annual report of the Implementation Support Unit

#### Submitted by the Implementation Support Unit

#### Amendment

1. In paragraph 7 add a new sub-paragraph (f) to read as follows:

Ireland provided a voluntary contribution of EUR 5,000 to UNODA to support the activities of the ISU in accordance with its mandate.

2. In paragraph 7 add a new sub-paragraph (g) to read as follows:

France provided a voluntary contribution of EUR 150,000 to UNODA to support a tabletop exercise on Article VII of the Convention for States Parties in West Africa. The tabletop exercise will take place in 2019.

3. Paragraph 15 of section III should be updated to read as follows:

The ISU continued to collect and update details of national points of contact for the Convention in 2018 (see Annex II). As of 1 December 2018, 118 States Parties had nominated a national point of contact. Two signatory States, three States not party and one regional organization have also provided points of contact. Contact information for these national points of contact is provided in the restricted area of the BWC website.

4. Paragraph 23 of section IV should be updated to read as follows:

All 2018 CBM returns are available to States Parties in the restricted area of the BWC website (http://www.unog.ch/bwc/restricted) as well as on the new eCBM platform (http://bwc-ecbm.unog.ch). Thirty-three States Parties have so far requested that their 2018 CBM submissions are also made available in the public area of the website (http://www.unog.ch/bwc/cbms).

5. Paragraph 25 of section IV should be updated to read as follows:

As of 1 December 2018:

(a) A total of 77 States Parties (42.3 per cent) had submitted a CBM covering the calendar year 2017;

(b) Of these, 29 submitted their CBM on or before the deadline of 15 April 2018;

(c) Six States Parties which submitted a CBM in 2017 had not yet done so in 2018; and





(d) Seven other States Parties which did not submit a CBM in 2017 had done so in 2018.

A total of 58 States Parties have never submitted a CBM.

6. Paragraph 32 of section VI should be updated to read as follows

As of 1 December 2018, the new database contains:

(a) A total of 61 offers for assistance, from 11 States Parties and one group of States Parties; and

(b) A total of 48 requests for assistance, from 14 States Parties; including one update of a request of assistance, and two requests that have been met.

7. Annex II should be updated to read as follows:

[English only]

### Annex II

#### **National Points of Contact**

The following States have nominated a national point of contact to the ISU by 1 December 2018.

Full contact details, including telephone numbers and e-mail addresses, are available to States Parties in the restricted area of the BWC website (http://www.unog.ch/bwc/ restricted).

### I. States Parties

Afghanistan

Albania

Algeria

Antigua and Barbuda

Argentina

Armenia

Australia

Austria

Azerbaijan

Bahrain

Belarus

Belgium

Bhutan

Bosnia and Herzegovina

Brazil

Bulgaria

Burkina Faso

Burundi

Cambodia

Cameroon

Canada

China

Colombia

Costa Rica

Croatia

Cuba

-
Cyprus
Czech Republic
Democratic Republic of Congo
Denmark
Ecuador
Estonia
Ethiopia
Fiji
Finland
France
Georgia
Germany
Ghana
Greece
Guinea
Holy See
Hungary
Iceland
India
Indonesia
Iran (Islamic Republic of)
Iraq
Ireland
Italy
Japan
Jordan
Kazakhstan
Kenya
Kuwait
Kyrgyzstan
Lao People's Democratic Republic
Latvia
Lebanon
Liberia
Libya
Liechtenstein
Lithuania
Luxembourg
Madagascar
Malawi

Malaysia

Malta

Mauritius

Mexico

Montenegro

Morocco

Mozambique

Myanmar

Nepal

Netherlands

New Zealand

Niger

Nigeria

Norway

Oman

Pakistan

Palau

Peru

Philippines

Poland

Portugal

Qatar

Republic of Korea

Republic of Moldova

Romania

**Russian Federation** 

Saint Kitts and Nevis

Saudi Arabia

Senegal

Serbia

Slovakia

Slovenia

South Africa

Spain

Sri Lanka

Sudan

Sweden

Switzerland

Tajikistan

Thailand

The former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia Trinidad and Tobago Turkey Uganda Ukraine United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland United States of America Uruguay Uzbekistan Venezuela (Bolivarian Republic of) Yemen Zambia

### **II.** Signatories

Haiti

United Republic of Tanzania

# **III.** States not party

Israel Micronesia (Federated States of) Namibia

### IV. Regional organizations

European Union

8. In Annex III, the table should be updated to read as follows:

[English only]

# Annex III

#### **Report on participation in the Confidence-Building Measures**

#### Provisional summary of participation in 2018 (as of 1 December 2018)

Key: D = declaration submitted; ND = nothing to declare; NN = nothing new to declare.

State Party	A1	A2(i)	A2(ii)	A2(iii)	В	С	Ε	F	G
Albania	ND	ND	ND	ND	ND	ND	ND	ND	ND
Algeria	NN	NN	NN	NN	D	D	NN	NN	NN
Argentina	D	ND	ND	ND	D	D	NN	ND	D
Armenia	D	D	D	D	ND	D	D	ND	ND
Australia	NN	D	D	D	NN	D	D	NN	D
Austria	D	NN	D	D	ND	ND	NN	ND	ND
Azerbaijan	NN	ND	ND	ND	ND	ND	NN	ND	ND
Belarus	D	NN	NN	ND	D	D	D	ND	D
Belgium	ND	D	D	D	ND	D	D	ND	D
Bhutan	ND	ND	ND	ND	ND	ND	NN	ND	ND
Bosnia and Herzegovina	ND	ND	ND	ND	ND	ND	NN	ND	ND
Brazil	D	D	ND	ND	D	ND	D	D	D
Bulgaria	NN	ND	ND	ND	ND	ND	NN	NN	NN
Canada	NN	NN	D	D	D	D	NN	NN	D
Chile	D	ND	ND	ND	D	D	D	ND	NN
China	D	D	D	D	ND	D	D	NN	D
Colombia	D	ND	ND	ND	NN	ND	D	ND	D
Croatia	ND	ND	ND	ND	ND	ND	NN	ND	ND
Cuba	D	NN	NN	NN	ND	D	ND	NN	NN
Cyprus	NN	NN	NN	NN	NN	NN	NN	NN	NN
Czech Republic	NN	NN	NN	ND	D	D	D	NN	NN
Denmark	NN	NN	NN	D	ND	ND	D	NN	NN
Dominican Republic	D	ND	ND	ND	ND	ND	D	ND	ND
Ecuador	NN	ND	ND	ND	ND	ND	NN	ND	ND
Estonia	D	ND	ND	ND	D	ND	NN	ND	ND

									~
State Party	A1	A2(i)	A2(ii)	A2(iii)	В	С	Ε	F	G
Finland	D	D	D	D	ND	D	D	ND	ND
France	D	D	D	D	D	D	D	D	D
Georgia	D	D	D	D	ND	D	D	D	ND
Germany	D	D	D	D	D	D	NN	NN	D
Greece	NN	NN	NN	NN	NN	NN	NN	NN	NN
Hungary	D	NN	NN	NN	D	D	NN	ND	NN
India	D	NN	D	D	NN	NN	D	D	D
Iraq	D	ND	ND	ND	D	ND	NN	ND	NN
Ireland	D	NN	NN	NN	NN	D	D	ND	NN
Italy	D	D	D	D	D	NN	NN	D	D
Japan	NN	NN	D	D	ND	D	D	NN	NN
Jordan	ND	ND	ND	ND	ND	ND	ND	ND	ND
Kazakhstan	D	D	D	D	D	D	D	D	D
Latvia	D	D	ND	D	ND	ND	D	NN	ND
Lebanon	ND	ND	ND	ND	ND	ND	ND	ND	ND
Liechtenstein	ND	ND	ND	ND	NN	NN	NN	ND	ND
Lithuania	NN	ND	ND	ND	ND	ND	NN	ND	NN
Luxembourg	NN	ND	ND	ND	NN	NN	NN	ND	ND
Malaysia	ND	ND	ND	ND	ND	ND	ND	ND	ND
Malta	NN	NN	NN	NN	D	NN	NN	NN	NN
Mauritius	NN	ND	ND	ND	ND	ND	NN	ND	ND
Mexico	NN	ND	ND	ND	D	D	NN	ND	NN
Montenegro	NN	ND	ND	ND	ND	ND	D	ND	ND
Morocco	NN	ND	ND	ND	NN	ND	NN	ND	D
Myanmar	ND	ND	D	ND	ND	ND	D	ND	D
Netherlands	D	D	D	D	D	D	D	NN	D
Norway	ND	NN	NN	NN	ND	NN	D	NN	NN
Oman	D	D	D	D	ND	ND	D	ND	ND
Peru	NN	ND	ND	ND	ND	ND	D	ND	ND
Philippines	D	ND	ND	ND	NN	D	NN	ND	NN
Poland	NN	NN	NN	NN	ND	ND	ND	ND	NN
Portugal	NN	NN	NN	NN	ND	ND	NN	NN	NN
Qatar	ND	ND	ND	ND	D	ND	ND	ND	ND
Republic of	NN	NN	D	D	ND	D	D	ND	NN

	A 1	42(:)	A 2(···)	42()	D	C	Б	Г	C
State Party	A1	A2(i)	A2(ii)	A2(iii)	В	С	Ε	F	G
Korea									
Republic of Moldova	NN	NN	NN	NN	D	ND	ND	NN	ND
Romania	D	ND	ND	ND	ND	D	D	ND	D
Russian Federation	D	D	D	D	ND	D	D	NN	D
Saudi Arabia	ND	ND	ND	ND	ND	ND	ND	ND	ND
Serbia	ND	ND	ND	ND	ND	ND	ND	ND	ND
Singapore	ND	NN	NN	D	NN	NN	D	NN	D
Slovakia	ND	ND	ND	ND	ND	D	NN	ND	ND
Slovenia	NN	ND	ND	ND	ND	ND	NN	ND	ND
South Africa	D	NN	NN	D	ND	ND	NN	NN	ND
Spain	D	D	D	D	D	D	D	ND	ND
Sweden	D	D	D	D	ND	ND	NN	NN	NN
Switzerland	D	NN	D	D	D	D	D	NN	D
Turkey	NN	ND	ND	ND	ND	ND	NN	NN	D
Ukraine	D	ND	ND	ND	ND	D	ND	ND	NN
United Arab Emirates	ND	ND	ND	ND	ND	ND	ND	ND	ND
United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland	D	D	D	D	D	NN	D	NN	D
United States of America	D	D	D	D	D	D	D	NN	D
Uzbekistan	ND	ND	ND	ND	ND	ND	ND	ND	ND