United Nations ST/IC/2003/40



24 June 2003

Information circular*

To: Members of the staff

From: The Assistant Secretary-General for Human Resources Management

Subject: Transportation of privately owned automobiles: list of countries and territories to which such transportation may be partially reimbursed

- 1. In accordance with staff rules 107.27 (d) (iv) and 207.20 (1) and section 12 of administrative instruction ST/AI/1999/15, entitled "Excess baggage, shipments and insurance", one of the conditions for the partial reimbursement of the cost of transportation of privately owned vehicles is that the duty station to which the automobile is being transported be in a country or territory designated as one in which the United Nations may accept responsibility for such cost.
- 2. The purpose of the present circular is to inform staff members of the updated list of countries or territories so designated (see annex).
- 3. The present circular cancels and supersedes ST/IC/1999/100 and Add.1 and ST/IC/2003/36.

^{*} The present circular will be in effect until further notice.

Annex

List of countries and territories where the United Nations may provide partial reimbursement of the cost of transporting automobiles on initial appointment or change of duty station

Afghanistan Ghana Panama Angola Grenada Qatar Anguilla Guinea Rwanda

Antigua Guinea-Bissau Saint Kitts and Nevis

Bahamas Haiti Saint Lucia

Belize Iran (Islamic Republic of) Saint Vincent and the Grenadines

Benin Jordan Saudi Arabia Kiribati Bermuda Senegal British Virgin Islands Kuwait Seychelles Burkina Faso Lao People's Democratic Republic Sierra Leone Burundi Somalia Lebanon Sri Lanka Cameroon Lesotho Cape Verde Liberia Sudan Cayman Islands Libyan Arab Jamahiriya Suriname Central African Republic Malawi Swaziland

Chad Maldives Syrian Arab Republic

ChinaMaliTogoComorosMarshall IslandsTokelauCongoaMongoliaTonga

Cook Islands Montserrat Trust Territory of the Pacific Islands

Côte d'IvoireMozambiqueTuvaluCubaMyanmarUganda

Democratic People's Republic Nauru United Arab Emirates
of Korea Nepal United Republic of Tanzania

Djibouti Netherlands Antilles Vanuatu
Dominica New Caledonia Viet Nam
Egypt Niger Yemen

Equatorial Guinea Nigeria Wallis and Futuna Islands

Fiji Niue Zambia
Gabon Palau Zimbabwe

Gambia

^a Effective 1 April 2003.