

Meeting of States Parties

Distr.: General 13 March 2002

Original: English

Twelfth Meeting

New York, 16-26 April 2002

List of candidates nominated by States Parties for election to the Commission on the Limits of the Continental Shelf

Note by the Secretary-General

- 1. Pursuant to article 2, paragraph 1, of annex II to the United Nations Convention on the Law of the Sea, the Commission on the Limits of the Continental Shelf shall consist of 21 members who shall be experts in the field of geology, geophysics or hydrography, elected by States Parties to the Convention from among their nationals.
- 2. On 29 November 2001, the Secretary-General addressed a note to States Parties and to observer States which might be in the process of ratifying or acceding to the Convention inviting them to submit, by 11 March 2002, the names of candidates whom their Governments might wish to nominate for the election of the members of the Commission. In a further note dated 11 January 2002, the Secretary-General reminded Governments of the closing date, 11 March 2002, for the submission of nominations.
- 3. Article 2, paragraph 2, of annex II provides that the Secretary-General shall prepare a list in alphabetical order of all persons thus nominated and shall submit it to all the States Parties. The nominations submitted by States Parties to the Secretary-General in reply to his request are set out in the annex to the present note.
- 4. The curricula vitae of the candidates will be circulated in document SPLOS/81.
- 5. The election of members of the Commission will take place at the twelfth Meeting of States Parties, to be held at United Nations Headquarters from 16 to 26 April 2002. The procedures to be followed by the Meeting of States Parties are set out in a note by the Secretary-General (SPLOS/79).

Annex

List of candidates

Name and nationality	Nominated by
Al-Azri, Hilal Mohamed Sultan (Oman)	Oman
Albuquerque, Alexandre Tagore Medeiros de (Brazil)	Brazil
Astiz, Osvaldo Pedro (Argentina)	Argentina
Awosika, Lawrence Folajimi (Nigeria)	Nigeria
Betah, Samuel Sona (Cameroon)	Cameroon
Brekke, Harald (Norway)	Finland, Iceland, Norway, Sweden
Brooks, John R. V. (United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland)	United Kingdom
Carrera Hurtado, Galo (Mexico)	Mexico
Croker, Peter F. (Ireland)	Ireland
Fagoonee, Indurlall (Mauritius)	Mauritius
Francis, Noel Newton St. Claver (Jamaica)	Jamaica
German, Mihai Silviu (Romania)	Romania
Inam, Asif (Pakistan)	Pakistan
Jaafar, Abu Bakar (Malaysia)	Malaysia
Juračić, Mladen (Croatia)	Croatia
Kazmin, Yuri Borisovitch (Russian Federation)	Russian Federation
Lu, Wenzheng (China)	China
Park, Yong-Ahn (Republic of Korea)	Republic of Korea
Pimentel, Fernando Manuel Maia (Portugal)	Portugal
Symonds, Philip Alexander (Australia)	Australia
Tamaki, Kensaku (Japan)	Japan
Thakur, Naresh Kumar (India)	India
Wijayananda, Nanayakkarawasam Pallege (Sri Lanka)	Sri Lanka
Woeledji, Yao Ubuènalè (Togo)	Togo

2