

Distr.: General 13 July 2005

Original: English

Security Council Committee established pursuant to resolution 1591 (2005) concerning the Sudan

## Note verbale dated 12 July 2005 from the Permanent Mission of Portugal to the United Nations addressed to the Chairman of the Committee

The Permanent Mission of Portugal to the United Nations presents its compliments to the Chairman of the Security Council Committee concerning Darfur, Sudan, and, referring to his note dated 27 May 2005, has the honour to communicate to the Committee the following information on the implementation of the United Nations sanctions as established by Security Council resolutions 1556 (2004) and 1591 (2005).

Security Council resolution 1556 (2004) provides for the prohibition of the provision of military equipment to the Sudan (paras. 7 and 8), and Security Council resolution 1591 (2005) reaffirms the arms embargo as well as travel restrictions and assets freeze to be applied to the individuals designated by the Committee.

As a rule, the European Union adopts common positions and Council regulations to implement Security Council resolutions providing for the imposition of restrictive measures. These common positions and Council regulations are binding on States members of the European Union. To date, the European Union has adopted Council Regulation No. 131 of 28 January 2004, and Council Regulation No. 1353 of 27 July 2004, imposing restrictions on exports of military goods and/or technologies. The adoption of another Council regulation (regarding the freezing of assets and related measures) is still being considered.

Portugal has adopted national measures to make public and apply the content of the aforesaid resolutions. Since the entry into force of this sanctions regime, the Portuguese Ministry of Defence has not received any requests concerning military goods and/or technologies involving the Sudan. Any such requests would be refused based on legislation currently in force, namely Ordinance law No. 371/80 of 11 September; Ordinance law No. 1/86 of 2 January; Ordinance law No. 436/91 of 8 November; Ministerial Decree (Portaria) No. 439/94 of 29 June (chapters XIII and XIV); and Ordinance law No. 397/98 of 17 December.

When the Committee established pursuant to paragraph 3, subparagraph (a), of resolution 1591 (2005) designates individuals to be subject to the measures imposed

05-42469 (E) 190705 \* **0542469**\* by subparagraphs (d) (travel ban) and (e) (assets freeze) of paragraph 3 of the resolution, those individuals and entities will then be subject to restrictions as applicable under national legislation.