

Distr.: General 15 June 2022

Original: English

Letter dated 10 June 2022 from the Secretary-General addressed to the President of the Security Council

I have the honour to refer to Security Council resolution 1966 (2010), adopted on 22 December 2010, by which the Council established the International Residual Mechanism for Criminal Tribunals and, in particular, the appointment of the judges, the President and the Prosecutor of the Mechanism.

I recall that, under paragraph 17 of resolution 1966 (2010), the Council decided that the Mechanism would operate for an initial period of four years, as from 1 July 2012. The Council also decided to review the progress of the work of the Mechanism, including in completing its functions, before the end of that initial period and every two years thereafter. The Council further decided that the Mechanism would continue to operate for subsequent periods of two years following each such review, unless it decided otherwise.

The terms of office of the current judges, the President and the Prosecutor will expire on 30 June 2022.

In accordance with the provisions of article 8 of the statute of the Mechanism, which is set out in annex 1 to resolution 1966 (2010), the Mechanism is to have a roster of 25 independent judges, not more than 2 of whom may be nationals of the same State.

Furthermore, article 10, paragraph 3, of the statute provides that the judges of the Mechanism are to be elected for a term of four years and are to be eligible for reappointment by the Secretary-General after consultation with the Presidents of the Security Council and of the General Assembly. By its resolution 2269 (2016), adopted on 29 February 2016, the Council decided that, notwithstanding that provision, the judges of the Mechanism might be appointed or reappointed for a two-year term.

Pursuant to article 9, paragraph 1, of the statute, the judges are to be persons of high moral character, impartiality and integrity who possess the qualifications required in their respective countries for appointment to the highest judicial offices. Particular account is to be taken of experience as judges of the International Tribunal for the Former Yugoslavia or the International Criminal Tribunal for Rwanda.

The Office of Legal Affairs has consulted the 25 judges of the Mechanism to ascertain their interest in and availability for reappointment. All the judges have confirmed their interest and availability.

Therefore, I intend to reappoint the 25 judges of the Mechanism, who are listed in the annex to the present letter, for a term of two years, from 1 July 2022 to 30 June 2024, which will be in line with the upcoming period of operation of the Mechanism.





In accordance with article 10, paragraph 3, of the statute, I look forward to receiving your views on the proposed reappointment of the judges.

Concerning the President of the Mechanism, article 11, paragraph 1, of the statute provides that, after consultation with the President of the Council and the judges of the Mechanism, the Secretary-General is to appoint a full-time President from among the judges of the Mechanism. The statute, resolution 1966 (2010) and subsequent resolutions are silent on the length of the term of office of the President.

The current President of the Mechanism, Judge Carmel Agius (Malta), has informed me that he is not seeking to be reappointed as President. Having consulted the judges of the Mechanism, I intend to appoint Judge Graciela S. Gatti Santana (Uruguay) as President for a term of office from 1 July 2022 to 30 June 2024. Judge Gatti Santana has served as a judge of the Mechanism since 2012 and is eminently qualified for this role.

I look forward to receiving your views on the proposed appointment of Judge Gatti Santana, in accordance with article 11, paragraph 1, of the statute.

Regarding the Prosecutor, article 14, paragraph 4, of the statute provides that the Prosecutor is to be appointed by the Security Council on nomination by the Secretary-General. The Prosecutor is to be of high moral character and possess the highest level of competence and experience in the conduct of investigations and prosecutions of criminal cases. The Prosecutor is to serve for a four-year term and is to be eligible for reappointment. By its resolution 2269 (2016), the Council decided that, notwithstanding article 14, paragraph 4, of the statute, the Prosecutor might be appointed or reappointed for a two-year term.

I hereby nominate Judge Serge Brammertz (Belgium) for reappointment as Prosecutor of the Mechanism for a new two-year term, from 1 July 2022 to 30 June 2024.

I should be grateful if you would bring the present letter and its annex to the attention of the members of the Security Council.

(Signed) António Guterres

Annex

Candidates for reappointment as judges of the International Residual Mechanism for Criminal Tribunals

- Mr. Carmel A. Agius (Malta)
- Mr. Yusuf Aksar (Türkiye)
- Mr. Jean-Claude Antonetti (France)
- Ms. Florence Rita Arrey (Cameroon)
- Mr. Iain Bonomy (United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland)
- Mr. Mustapha El Baaj (Morocco)
- Ms. Graciela Susana Gatti Santana (Uruguay)
- Mr. Burton Hall (Bahamas)
- Ms. Claudia Hoefer (Germany)
- Ms. Margaret deGuzman (United States of America)
- Ms. Elizabeth Ibanda-Nahamya (Uganda)
- Mr. Vagn Joensen (Denmark)
- Mr. Liu Daqun (China)
- Mr. Joseph E. Chiondo Masanche (United Republic of Tanzania)
- Mr. Lee Gacuiga Muthoga (Kenya)
- Ms. Aminatta Lois Runeni N'gum (Zimbabwe/Gambia)
- Ms. Prisca Matimba Nyambe (Zambia)
- Mr. Alphonsus Martinus Maria Orie (Netherlands)
- Mr. Seymour Panton (Jamaica)
- Mr. Seon Ki Park (Republic of Korea)
- Mr. José Ricardo de Prada Solaesa (Spain)
- Mr. Mahandrisoa Edmond Randrianirina (Madagascar)
- Mr. Ivo Nelson de Caires Batista Rosa (Portugal)
- Ms. Fatimata Sanou Touré (Burkina Faso)
- Mr. William H. Sekule (United Republic of Tanzania)