

Distr.: General 10 April 2018

Original: English

## Letter dated 10 April 2018 from the Permanent Representative of Switzerland to the United Nations addressed to the President of the Security Council

I am writing on behalf of the 25 members of the Accountability, Coherence and Transparency Group (ACT Group),<sup>1</sup> regarding Security Council action against the use of chemical weapons in the Syrian Arab Republic.

One year after the horrific chemical weapon attacks in Khan Shaykhun, the use of chemical weapons against civilians has again been reported in the town of Duma in the Syrian Arab Republic. The prohibition on the use of chemical weapons is absolute under international law, thus making any use of such weapons under any circumstances a war crime in situations where international humanitarian law applies. In accordance with the Code of Conduct regarding Security Council action against genocide, crimes against humanity and war crimes, we request all members of the Security Council to finally act against the atrocity crimes committed in the Syrian Arab Republic, including by condemning the recent use of chemical weapons in Duma and ensuring that those responsible are held accountable.

We would like to remind all Security Council members that 115 States (including 9 current members of the Council) have endorsed the Code of Conduct regarding Security Council action against genocide, crimes against humanity and war crimes, as elaborated by the ACT Group. These 115 States expect the Council to take timely and decisive action aimed at preventing such atrocities and not to vote against credible draft resolutions to the same end.

I would be grateful if you could circulate the present letter as a document of the Security Council.

(Signed) Jürg Lauber Ambassador Permanent Representative of Switzerland to the United Nations

<sup>1</sup> Austria, Chile, Costa Rica, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, Gabon, Ghana, Hungary, Ireland, Jordan, Liechtenstein, Luxembourg, Maldives, New Zealand, Norway, Papua New Guinea, Peru, Portugal, Rwanda, Saudi Arabia, Slovenia, Sweden, Switzerland and Uruguay.





