

Security Council

Distr.
GENERAL

S/1996/1078 31 December 1996

ORIGINAL: ENGLISH

REPORT OF THE SECRETARY-GENERAL CONCERNING THE CREDENTIALS OF THE REPRESENTATIVES AND DEPUTY AND ALTERNATE REPRESENTATIVES OF THE MEMBERS OF THE SECURITY COUNCIL ELECTED FOR THE PERIOD 1997-1998

At its 39th plenary meeting, on 21 October 1996, the General Assembly elected Costa Rica, Japan, Kenya, Portugal and Sweden as non-permanent members of the Security Council for a term of two years beginning on 1 January 1997.

Pursuant to rule 15 of the provisional rules of procedure of the Security Council, the Secretary-General wishes to report that, with regard to the representation of the members of the Security Council elected for the period 1997-1998, he has received the communications referred to hereunder.

Costa Rica: Credentials from the Minister for Foreign Affairs of Costa Rica, signed on 26 December 1996, stating that Mr. Fernando Berrocal-Soto has been appointed representative of Costa Rica on the Security Council, Mr. Melvin Sáenz-Biolley deputy representative and Ms. Nazareth Incera, Ms. Liliana Hernández, Mr. Federico Sáenz, Mr. Carlos Fernando Diaz, Ms. Oriana Vargas de Mendiola and Ms. Jessica Lang alternate representatives.

In the opinion of the Secretary-General, these credentials are in order.

<u>Japan</u>: Credentials from the Minister for Foreign Affairs of Japan, signed on 6 December 1996, stating that Mr. Hisashi Owada has been appointed representative of Japan on the Security Council, Mr. Masaki Konishi deputy representative and Mr. Nobuyasu Abe, Mr. Toshihiro Takahashi and Mr. Akio Tanaka alternate representatives.

In the opinion of the Secretary-General, these credentials are in order.

<u>Kenya</u>: The Secretary-General has received a facsimile of credentials from the Minister for Foreign Affairs and International Cooperation of Kenya, signed on 30 December 1996, stating that Mr. Njuguna M. Mahugu, O.G.W., has been appointed representative of Kenya on the Security Council, Dr. Kipkorir Alyazad Rana deputy representative and Mr. Thomas Boniface Amolo, Mr. Wanyambura Mwambia, Miss Amina Mohammed, Mr. James Warui Kihwaga and Mr. Thuita Mwangi alternate representatives.

In the opinion of the Secretary-General, this communication constitutes adequate provisional credentials.

<u>Portugal</u>: The Secretary-General has received a facsimile of credentials from the Minister for Foreign Affairs of Portugal, signed on 31 December 1996, stating that Mr. António Víctor Martins Monteiro has been appointed representative of Portugal on the Security Council, Mr. José Tadeu da Costa Sousa Soares deputy representative and Mrs. Ana Gomes and Mr. Nuno Brito alternate representatives.

In the opinion of the Secretary-General, this communication constitutes adequate provisional credentials.

<u>Sweden</u>: Credentials from the Minister for Foreign Affairs of Sweden, signed on 26 November 1996, stating that Mr. Peter Osvald has been appointed representative of Sweden on the Security Council, Mr. Anders Lidén deputy representative and Mr. Henrik Salander, Ms. Annika Jagander, Mr. Torkel Stiernlöf, Mr. Per Thöresson and Ms. Elinor Hammarskjöld alternate representatives.

In the opinion of the Secretary-General, these credentials are in order.
