## 2015 Review Conference of the Parties to the Treaty on the Non-Proliferation of Nuclear Weapons

Distr.: General 21 May 2015

Original: English

New York, 27 April-22 May 2015

## **Credentials of representatives to the Conference**

## **Final report of the Credentials Committee**

1. Rule 3 of the rules of procedure of the 2015 Review Conference of the Parties to the Treaty on the Non-Proliferation of Nuclear Weapons provides:

"The Conference shall establish a Credentials Committee composed of the Chairman and two Vice-Chairmen elected in accordance with rule 5, and six members appointed by the Conference on the proposal of the President. The Committee shall examine the credentials of representatives and report to the Conference without delay."

2. In accordance with rule 5 of its rules of procedures, the Conference unanimously elected Mr. Mohamed Ali Alhakim (Iraq) as Chairman of the Credentials Committee and Mr. Matthew Rowland (United Kingdom) and Mr. Paweł Radomski (Poland) as Vice-Chairmen of the Committee.

3. In accordance with rule 3 of the rules of procedure, the Conference on the proposal of the President, appointed the following countries as members of the Credentials Committee: Bulgaria, Chile, Croatia, Kyrgyzstan, Norway and Viet Nam.

4. The Committee held two meetings on 5 May and 19 May 2015, to examine the credentials received thus far. The Committee had before it two memoranda of the Secretary-General of the Conference dated 5 May and 18 May, containing information on the status of the credentials of the representatives of the States parties attending the Conference. Pursuant to the request in rule 3 that the Committee reports to the Conference without delay, at the ninth plenary meeting on 8 May, the Chairman, on behalf of the Committee, introduced an interim report of the Committee to the Conference (NPT/CONF.2015/CC/L.1).

5. Also at its first meeting, the Committee noted the information relayed by the Secretary-General of the Conference and requested the Chairman to invite those States parties that had not yet done so to submit to the Secretary-General of the Conference the credentials of their representatives in accordance with rule 2 of the rules of procedure. The Committee's request was communicated by the Chairman to the States parties through a note (NPT/CONF.2015/INF/5). Further, those





delegations which had presented no written communication were contacted directly to remind them of the terms of rule 2 regarding the presentation of their credentials.

6. At its second meeting, on 19 May, the Committee had before it a memorandum from the Secretary-General of the Conference which gave updated information on the status of the credentials of the representatives of States parties participating in the Conference.

7. Having examined the information contained in those memoranda, and other credentials it received subsequently, the Committee noted that as at 19 May:

(a) Formal credentials in due form, as provided for by rule 2 of the rules of procedure, have been received by the Secretary-General of the Conference for representatives of the following 79 States parties: Algeria, Andorra, Argentina, Australia, Austria, Barbados, Belarus, Brazil, Brunei Darussalam, Bulgaria, Cameroon, Canada, Chile, China, Costa Rica, Cote d'Ivoire, Croatia, Cuba, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Ecuador, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Holy See, Hungary, Iceland, Indonesia, Iraq, Ireland, Italy, Jamaica, Japan, Kazakhstan, Kuwait, Lao People's Democratic Republic, Latvia, Lebanon, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Mexico, Monaco, Mongolia, Morocco, Myanmar, Namibia, Nepal, Netherlands, New Zealand, Niger, Nigeria, Norway, Oman, Panama, Poland, Portugal, Republic of Korea, Romania, Russian Federation, Samoa, San Marino, Saudi Arabia, Senegal, Serbia, Slovakia, Slovenia, Sweden, Switzerland, Turkey, Ukraine, United Arab Emirates, United Kingdom, United States of America, Uruguay, and Yemen.

(b) Provisional credentials for the representatives of the following 36 States parties have been communicated to the Secretary-General of the Conference by means of a facsimile communication from the Head of State or Government or Minister for Foreign Affairs or by means of a note verbale or letter from the Permanent Mission concerned: Angola, Bangladesh, Bhutan, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Burkina Faso, Cambodia, Colombia, Denmark, Dominican Republic, Egypt, Ghana, Guatemala, Iran (Islamic Republic of), Jordan, Kyrgyzstan, Libya, Malaysia, Maldives, Marshall Islands, Mozambique, Nauru, Peru, Philippines, Qatar, Republic of Moldova, South Africa, Sri Lanka, State of Palestine, Sudan, Syria, Thailand, Togo, Trinidad and Tobago, Turkmenistan, Viet Nam, and Zimbabwe.

(c) The following 76 States parties have not submitted their credentials: Afghanistan, Albania, Antigua and Barbuda, Armenia, Azerbaijan, Bahamas, Bahrain, Belgium, Belize, Benin, Bolivia, Botswana, Burundi, Cabo Verde, Central African Republic, Chad, Comoros, Congo (Republic of the), Democratic People's Republic of Korea,<sup>1</sup> Democratic Republic of Congo, Djibouti, Dominica, El Salvador, Equatorial Guinea, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Fiji, Gabon, Gambia, Georgia, Grenada, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Guyana, Haiti, Honduras, Kenya, Kiribati, Lesotho, Liberia, Madagascar, Malawi, Mali, Mauritania, Mauritius, Micronesia (Federated States of), Montenegro, Nicaragua, Palau, Papua New Guinea, Paraguay, Rwanda, Saint Kitts and Nevis, Saint Lucia, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, Sao Tome and Principe, Seychelles, Sierra Leone, Singapore, Solomon Islands, Somalia, Spain, Suriname, Swaziland, Tajikistan, the former Yugoslav Republic of

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>1</sup> Announced its withdrawal on 10 January 2003. The legal status of the Democratic People's Republic of Korea as a State party is uncertain.

Macedonia, Timor-Leste, Tonga, Tunisia, Tuvalu, Uganda, United Republic of Tanzania, Uzbekistan, Vanuatu, Venezuela (Bolivarian Republic of), and Zambia.

8. On the proposal of the Chairman, the Committee agreed to accept the credentials of all the participating States parties referred to in paragraph 7 (a) and (b) on the understanding that the originals of the credentials of the representatives of those States referred to paragraph 7(b) would be submitted as soon as possible, in accordance with the terms of rule 2 of the rules of procedure.

9. At its second meeting, the Committee unanimously adopted its report to the Conference.

\_\_\_\_\_