United Nations E/2019/9/Add.4



Economic and Social Council

Distr.: General 18 February 2019

Original: English

2019 session

26 July 2018–24 July 2019

Agenda item 4

Elections, nominations, confirmations and appointments

Nomination of seven members of the Committee for Programme and Coordination

Note by the Secretary-General

- 1. In accordance with Economic and Social Council resolution 2008 (LX) and General Assembly decision 42/450, the Council is to nominate seven members for election by the Assembly at its seventy-fourth session to fill the vacancies in the Committee for Programme and Coordination that will occur on 31 December 2019 upon the expiration of the terms of the following members: Bangladesh, China, Egypt, Eritrea, Haiti, the Republic of Korea and Senegal. The term of office is three years, beginning on 1 January 2020.
- 2. The Council is reminded that the General Assembly, in section III of its resolution 3392 (XXX) on the review of the intergovernmental and expert machinery dealing with the formulation, review and approval of programmes and budgets, encouraged Member States to be represented in the Committee for Programme and Coordination at an adequate level in order to raise the expertise of the Committee.
- 3. The election will be held at the management meeting of the Council, to be held on 7 May 2019.
- 4. The vacancies are to be filled according to the following pattern:
 - (a) Three members from African States;
 - (b) Three members from Asia-Pacific States;
 - (c) One member from Latin American and Caribbean States.
- 5. The membership of the Committee in 2019 is set out in the annex to the present note.





Annex

Committee for Programme and Coordination

(34 members; three-year term)

Membership in 2019

Nine members from African States

Angola (2021), Botswana (2020), Burkina Faso (2020), Cameroon (2020), Chad (2020), Egypt* (2019), Eritrea* (2019), Ethiopia (2021), Senegal* (2019)

Seven members from Asia-Pacific States

Bangladesh* (2019), China* (2019), India (2020), Iran (Islamic Republic of) (2020), Japan (2020), Pakistan (2020), Republic of Korea* (2019)

Four members from Eastern European States

Belarus (2020), Bulgaria (2020), Republic of Moldova (2020), Russian Federation (2021)

Seven members from Latin American and Caribbean States¹

Argentina (2021), Brazil (2020), Chile (2020), Cuba (2020), Haiti* (2019)

Seven members from Western European and other States²

France (2021), Germany (2020), Italy (2020), Portugal (2020), United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland (2020), United States of America (2020)

2/2

^{*} Retiring member.

¹ There are two vacancies in this group: one for a term to expire on 31 December 2020 and one for a term to expire on 31 December 2021, both terms beginning on the date of election by the General Assembly (see Council decision 2018/201 E).

² There is one vacancy in this group for a term beginning on the date of election by the General Assembly and expiring on 31 December 2021 (see Council decision 2018/201 E).