United Nations E/2018/9/Add.5



Economic and Social Council

Distr.: General 5 February 2018

Original: English

2018 session

27 July 2017–26 July 2018

Agenda item 4

Elections, nominations, confirmations and appointments

Election of nine members of the Committee on Economic, Social and Cultural Rights

Note by the Secretary-General

- 1. By its resolution 1985/17, the Economic and Social Council established the Committee on Economic, Social and Cultural Rights to undertake functions relating to the implementation of the International Covenant on Economic, Social and Cultural Rights and to assist the Council in fulfilling its responsibilities under the Covenant. The members are elected from a list of persons nominated by States parties to the Covenant
- 2. In 2018, the Council is to elect nine members of the Committee for a four-year term beginning on 1 January 2019 to fill vacancies that will occur upon the expiration, on 31 December 2018, of the terms of the following members: Aslan Khuseinovich Abashidze (Russian Federation), Clément Atangana (Cameroon), Maria Virginia Bras Gomes (Portugal), Chandrashekhar Dasgupta (India), Olivier De Schutter (Belgium), Azzouz Kerdoun (Algeria), Renato Zerbini Ribeiro Leão (Brazil), Heisoo Shin (Republic of Korea) and Rodrigo Uprimny Yepes (Colombia).
- 3. In a note verbale dated 22 September 2017, the Secretary-General invited States parties to the Covenant to submit their nominations for membership in the Committee within three months. The names of the persons nominated are set out below, together with the States parties that nominated them. Biographical information on the candidates will be provided in document E/2018/9/Add.6.

| Name | Proposed by |
|-------------------------------|--------------------|
| Aslan Khuseinovich Abashidze* | Russian Federation |
| Clément Atangana* | Cameroon |
| Asraf Ally Caunhye | Mauritius |
| Olivier De Schutter* | Belgium |





| Name | Proposed by |
|------------------------------|-------------------|
| Peters Sunday Omologbe Emuze | Nigeria |
| Azzouz Kerdoun* | Algeria |
| Tarik Ibrahim Hassan Kurdi | Sudan |
| Salima Namusobya | Uganda |
| Renato Zerbini Ribeiro Leão* | Brazil |
| Mounkaila Aichatou Seyni | Niger |
| Heisoo Shin* | Republic of Korea |
| Rodrigo Uprimny Yepes* | Colombia |

^{*} Nominated for re-election.

4. Currently, there are 166 States parties to the International Covenant on Economic, Social and Cultural Rights. The number of States parties by regional group is listed below, together with the number of seats to be allocated to each region in accordance with Council resolution 1985/17.

| Regional group | States parties as at 5 February 2018 | Seats allocated |
|-------------------------------------|--------------------------------------|-----------------|
| African States | 50 | 4 |
| Asia-Pacific States | 36 | 4 |
| Eastern European States | 23 | 3 |
| Latin American and Caribbean States | 29 | 4 |
| Western European and other States | 27 | 3 |
| Total | 165 | 18 |

5. Accordingly, the number of vacancies in each geographical region to be filled by the Council in 2018 is as follows:

| Regional group | Number of vacancies |
|-------------------------------------|---------------------|
| African States | 2 |
| Asia-Pacific States | 2 |
| Eastern European States | 1 |
| Latin American and Caribbean States | 3 |
| Western European and other States | 1 |
| Total | 9 |

6. The current membership of the Committee is listed in the annex to the present note.

2/3

Annex

Committee on Economic, Social and Cultural Rights

(18 members; four-year term)

Membership in 2018

| Name | Term expires on 31 December |
|---|-----------------------------|
| Aslan Khuseinovich Abashidze (Russian Federation) | 2018 |
| Mohamed Ezzeldin Abdel-Moneim (Egypt) | 2020 |
| Clément Atangana (Cameroon) | 2018 |
| Maria Virginia Bras Gomes (Portugal) | 2018 |
| Chen Shiqiu (China) | 2020 |
| Laura-Maria Craciunean-Tatu (Romania) | 2020 |
| Chandrashekhar Dasgupta (India) | 2018 |
| Olivier De Schutter (Belgium) | 2018 |
| Zdzislaw Kedzia (Poland) | 2020 |
| Azzouz Kerdoun (Algeria) | 2018 |
| Sandra Liebenberg (South Africa) | 2020 |
| Mikel Mancisidor de la Fuente (Spain) | 2020 |
| Lydia Carmelita Ravenberg (Suriname) | 2020 |
| Renato Zerbini Ribeiro Leão (Brazil) | 2018 |
| Waleed Sadi (Jordan) | 2020 |
| Heisoo Shin (Republic of Korea) | 2018 |
| Rodrigo Uprimny Yepes (Colombia) | 2018 |
| Michael Windfuhr (Germany) | 2020 |

18-01591