

Distr.: General 5 February 2018

Original: English

2018 session 27 July 2017–26 July 2018 Agenda item 4 Elections, nominations, confirmations and appointments

Election of 19 members of the Committee on Non-Governmental Organizations

Note by the Secretary-General

1. Under the terms of paragraph 2 of its resolution 1981/50, the Economic and Social Council is to elect 19 members of the Committee on Non-Governmental Organizations, for a four-year term beginning on 1 January 2019, according to the following pattern:

- (a) Five members from African States;
- (b) Four members from Asia-Pacific States;
- (c) Two members from Eastern European States;
- (d) Four members from Latin American and Caribbean States;
- (e) Four members from Western European and other States.

2. The election will be held at the coordination and management meetings of the Council, from 16 to 18 April 2018.

3. The membership of the Committee in 2018 is listed in the annex to the present note.





Annex

Committee on Non-Governmental Organizations

(19 members; four-year term)

Membership in 2018

Azerbaijan	Nicaragua
Burundi	Pakistan
China	Russian Federation
Cuba	South Africa
Greece	Sudan
Guinea	Turkey
India	United States of America
Iran (Islamic Republic of)	Uruguay
Israel	Venezuela (Bolivarian Republic of)
Mauritania	