United Nations E/2018/9/Add.3



Economic and Social Council

Distr.: General 5 February 2018

Original: English

2018 session

27 July 2017–26 July 2018

Agenda item 4

Elections, nominations, confirmations and appointments

Nomination of seven members of the Committee for Programme and Coordination

Note by the Secretary-General

- 1. In accordance with Economic and Social Council resolution 2008 (LX) and General Assembly decision 42/450, the Council is to nominate seven members for election by the Assembly at its seventy-third session to fill the vacancies in the Committee for Programme and Coordination that will occur on 31 December 2018 upon the expiration of the terms of the following members: Argentina, France, Peru, Russian Federation, United Republic of Tanzania and Zimbabwe. In addition, one seat with a term expiring on 31 December 2018 from Western European and other States that remains vacant is to be filled. The term of office is three years, beginning on 1 January 2019.
- 2. The Council is reminded that the General Assembly, in section III of its resolution 3392 (XXX) on the review of the intergovernmental and expert machinery dealing with the formulation, review and approval of programmes and budgets, encouraged Member States to be represented in the Committee for Programme and Coordination at an adequate level in order to raise the expertise of the Committee.
- 3. The election will be held at the coordination and management meetings of the Council, to be held from 16 to 18 April 2018.
- 4. The vacancies are to be filled according to the following pattern:
 - (a) Two members from African States;
 - (b) One member from Eastern European States;
 - (c) Two members from Latin American and Caribbean States;
- (d) Two members from Western European and other States (includes one outstanding vacancy).
- 5. The membership of the Committee in 2018 is set out in the annex to the present note.





Annex

Committee for Programme and Coordination

(34 members; three-year term)

Membership in 2018

Nine members from African States¹

Botswana (2020), Burkina Faso (2020), Cameroon (2020), Egypt (2019), Eritrea (2019), Senegal (2019), United Republic of Tanzania* (2018), Zimbabwe* (2018)

Seven members from Asia-Pacific States

Bangladesh (2019), China (2019), India (2020), Iran (Islamic Republic of) (2020), Japan (2020), Pakistan (2020), Republic of Korea (2019)

Four members from Eastern European States

Belarus (2020), Bulgaria (2020), Republic of Moldova (2020), Russian Federation* (2018)

Seven members from Latin American and Caribbean States²

Argentina* (2018), Brazil (2020), Chile (2020), Cuba (2020), Haiti (2019), Peru* (2018)

Seven members from Western European and other States³

France* (2018), Germany (2020), Portugal (2020), United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland (2020), United States of America (2020)

2/2

^{*} Retiring member.

¹ There is one vacancy in this group for a term beginning on the date of election by the General Assembly and expiring on 31 December 2020 (see Council decision 2018/201B).

² There is one vacancy in this group for a term beginning on the date of election by the General Assembly and expiring on 31 December 2020 (see Council decision 2018/201B).

³ There are two vacancies in this group: one for a term to expire on 31 December 2018 and one for a term to expire on 31 December 2020, both terms beginning on the date of election by the General Assembly (see Council decision 2018/201 B).