United Nations E/2018/9/Add.14



Economic and Social Council

Distr.: General 2 February 2018

Original: English

2018 session27 July 2017–26 July 2018
Agenda item 4

Elections, nominations, confirmations and appointments

Election of 20 members of the Governing Council of the United Nations Human Settlements Programme

Note by the Secretary-General

- 1. Pursuant to General Assembly resolution 56/206, the Economic and Social Council is to elect 20 members of the Governing Council of the United Nations Human Settlements Programme for a four-year term beginning on 1 January 2019 to fill the vacancies that will occur on 31 December 2018 upon the expiration of the terms of the following members: Argentina, Democratic Republic of the Congo, Ecuador, Egypt, Finland, Gabon, Ghana, Guatemala, Indonesia, Iran (Islamic Republic of), Iraq, Japan, Russian Federation, Senegal, Slovakia, United States of America, Uruguay and Zimbabwe. In addition, the two seats with terms expiring on 31 December 2018 from Western European and other States that remain vacant are to be filled.
- 2. The election will be held at the coordination and management meetings of the Economic and Social Council, from 16 to 18 April 2018.
- 3. In accordance with paragraph 4 of section I.A of General Assembly resolution 56/206, the 20 members are to be elected according to the following pattern:
 - (a) Six members from African States;
 - (b) Four members from Asia-Pacific States;
 - (c) Two members from Eastern European States;
 - (d) Four members from Latin American and Caribbean States;
 - (e) Four members from Western European and other States.
- 4. The membership of the Governing Council in 2018 is listed in the annex to the present note.





Annex

Governing Council of the United Nations Human Settlements Programme

(58 members; four-year term)

Membership in 2018

Sixteen members from African States

Angola (2019), Benin (2020), Chad (2019), Democratic Republic of the Congo* (2018), Egypt* (2018), Gabon* (2018), Ghana* (2018), Kenya (2019), Libya (2020), Madagascar (2020), Mauritius (2020), Nigeria (2019), Senegal* (2018), Somalia (2020), South Africa (2019), Zimbabwe* (2018)

Thirteen members from Asia-Pacific States

Afghanistan (2020), Bahrain (2019), China (2020), India (2019), Indonesia* (2018), Iran (Islamic Republic of)* (2018), Iraq* (2018), Japan* (2018), Malaysia (2019), Republic of Korea (2020), Saudi Arabia (2019), Sri Lanka (2020), Turkmenistan (2019)

Six members from Eastern European States

Croatia (2020), Czechia (2020), Georgia (2019), Russian Federation* (2018), Serbia (2019), Slovakia* (2018)

Ten members from Latin American and Caribbean States¹

Argentina* (2018), Brazil (2019), Chile (2019), Colombia (2020), Ecuador* (2018), Guatemala* (2018), Mexico (2019), Paraguay (2020), Uruguay* (2018)

Thirteen members from Western European and other States²

Finland* (2018), France (2020), Germany (2019), Israel (2019), Norway (2020), Spain (2020), Sweden (2019), Turkey (2020), United States of America* (2018)

* Retiring member.

2/2

¹ There is one vacancy in this group for a member whose term would begin on the date of election and expire on 31 December 2020 (see Economic and Social Council decision 2018/201 B).

² There are four vacancies in this group: two for members whose terms would expire on 31 December 2018, one for a member whose term would expire on 31 December 2019 and one for a member whose term would expire on 31 December 2020, all for terms beginning on the date of election (see Council decision 2018/201 B).