

Distr.: General 2 February 2018

Original: English

2018 session 27 July 2017–26 July 2018 Agenda item 4 Elections, nominations, confirmations and appointments

Election of nine members of the Programme Coordinating Board of the Joint United Nations Programme on HIV/AIDS

Note by the Secretary-General

1. The Programme Coordinating Board of the Joint United Nations Programme on HIV/AIDS (UNAIDS) is composed of 22 members. In accordance with its decision 1995/223, the Economic and Social Council is to elect, from among States Members of the United Nations and observer States, nine members of the Programme Coordinating Board for a three-year term beginning on 1 January 2019 to fill the vacancies that will occur on 31 December 2018 upon the expiration of the terms of the following members: China, Ecuador, Ghana, Japan, Malawi, Portugal, Russian Federation, Sweden and United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland.

2. The election will be held at the coordination and management meeting of the Council, from 16 to 18 April 2018.

- 3. The nine members are to be elected according to the following pattern:
 - (a) Two members from African States;
 - (b) Two members from Asia-Pacific States;
 - (c) One member from Eastern European States;
 - (d) One member from Latin American and Caribbean States;
 - (e) Three members from Western European and other States.

4. The membership of the Programme Coordinating Board in 2018 is listed in the annex to the present note.





Please recycle



Annex

Programme Coordinating Board of the Joint United Nations Programme on HIV/AIDS

(22 members; three-year term)

Membership in 2018

Five members from African States

Algeria (2019), Congo (2020), Ghana* (2018), Madagascar (2019), Malawi* (2018)

Five members from Asia-Pacific States

China* (2018), India (2019), Indonesia (2019), Iran (Islamic Republic of) (2020) Japan* (2018)

Two members from Eastern European States

Belarus (2019), Russian Federation* (2018)

Three members from Latin American and Caribbean States

Chile (2020), Ecuador* (2018), Mexico (2019)

Seven members from Western European and other States

Australia (2020), Finland (2020), Germany (2019), Portugal* (2018), Sweden* (2018), United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland* (2018), United States of America (2019)

^{*} Retiring member.