

Distr.: General 5 February 2018

Original: English

2018 session 27 July 2017–26 July 2018 Agenda item 4 Elections, nominations, confirmations and appointments

# Election of 17 members of the Executive Board of the United Nations Entity for Gender Equality and the Empowerment of Women

### Note by the Secretary-General

1. The Executive Board of the United Nations Entity for Gender Equality and the Empowerment of Women (UN-Women) has 41 members, elected in accordance with General Assembly resolution 64/289 and Economic and Social Council resolution 2010/35 and decision 2010/261.

2. Under the terms of its resolution 2010/35, the Economic and Social Council is to elect, at the coordination and management meetings to be held from 16 to 18 April 2018, 17 members of the Executive Board from among States Members of the United Nations, for a three-year term beginning on 1 January 2019, to fill the vacancies that will occur on 31 December 2018 upon the expiration of the terms of the following members: Antigua and Barbuda, Comoros, Croatia, Gabon, Guyana, Iran (Islamic Republic of), Liberia, Namibia, New Zealand, Pakistan, Panama, Portugal, Russian Federation, Samoa, Tunisia, Turkmenistan and United Arab Emirates.

- 3. The 17 members are to be elected according to the following pattern:
  - (a) Five members from African States;
  - (b) Five members from Asia-Pacific States;
  - (c) Two members from Eastern European States;
  - (d) Three members from Latin American and Caribbean States;
  - (e) Two members from Western European and other States.

4. The membership of the Executive Board in 2018 is listed in the annex to the present note.



Please recycle



### Annex

# **Executive Board of the United Nations Entity for Gender Equality and the Empowerment of Women**

(41 members; three-year term)<sup>1</sup>

#### Membership in 2018

Members from the regional category, in accordance with Economic and Social Council resolution 2010/35

Ten members from African States

Burkina Faso (2019), Cameroon (2019), Comoros\* (2018), Gabon\* (2018), Liberia\* (2018), Namibia\* (2018), Nigeria (2019), Rwanda (2019), Tunisia\* (2018), Zambia (2019)

Ten members from Asia-Pacific States

Bahrain (2019), China (2019), Iran (Islamic Republic of)\* (2018), Japan (2019), Pakistan\* (2018), Republic of Korea (2019), Samoa\* (2018), Turkmenistan\* (2018), United Arab Emirates\* (2018), Yemen (2019)

Four members from Eastern European States

Belarus (2019), Croatia (2018), Montenegro (2019), Russian Federation\* (2018)

Six members from Latin American and Caribbean States

Antigua and Barbuda\* (2018), Brazil (2019), El Salvador (2019), Guyana\* (2018), Panama\* (2018), Trinidad and Tobago (2019)

Five members from Western European and other States

Canada<sup>2</sup> (2019), Finland<sup>3</sup> (2019), Netherlands<sup>4</sup> (2019), New Zealand<sup>\*</sup>, <sup>5</sup> (2018), Portugal<sup>\*</sup>, <sup>6</sup> (2018)

#### Members from contributing countries

Four members from the top 10 voluntary core contributing countries, in accordance with paragraph 61 (a) of General Assembly resolution 64/289

Norway (2019), Switzerland (2019), United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland (2019), United States of America (2019)

Two members from the top 10 voluntary core contributing countries not members of the Development Assistance Committee of the Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development, in accordance with paragraph 61 (b) of General Assembly resolution 64/289

Chile (2019), Turkey (2019)

<sup>\*</sup> Retiring member.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>1</sup> See Economic and Social Council resolution 2010/35.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>2</sup> Replaced Denmark as from 1 January 2018.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>3</sup> Replaced Belgium as from 1 January 2018.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>4</sup> Replaced France as from 1 January 2018.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>5</sup> Replaced Luxembourg as from 1 January 2018.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>6</sup> Replaced Germany as from 1 January 2018.