United Nations E/2017/9/Add.7



Economic and Social Council

Distr.: General 1 February 2017

Original: English

2017 session

28 July 2016-27 July 2017 Agenda item 4

Elections, nominations, confirmations and appointments

Election of six members of the Executive Board of the World Food Programme

Note by the Secretary-General

- 1. The Executive Board of the World Food Programme has 36 members, elected from among the States Members of the United Nations and the States members of the Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations (FAO). In accordance with General Assembly resolution 65/266 and FAO Conference resolution 7/2011, the Economic and Social Council and the Council of FAO elect 18 members of the Executive Board each, according to the pattern set out in Assembly resolution 65/266.
- 2. The Economic and Social Council is to elect, at the coordination and management meetings to be held from 19 to 21 April 2017, six members of the Executive Board, for a three-year term beginning on 1 January 2018, to fill the vacancies that will occur on 31 December 2017 upon the expiration of the terms of the following members: China, Japan, Hungary, Panama, Swaziland and the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland.
- 3. The members are to be elected according to the following pattern: ¹
 - (a) One member from the States included in List A;
 - (b) One member from the States included in List B;
 - (c) One member from the States included in List C;
 - (d) Two members from the States included in List D;
 - (e) One member from the States included in List E.

¹ The members are elected from lists set out in the Basic Texts of the World Food Programme. The lists are reproduced in annex III to the present note.





4. The 18 members of the Executive Board elected by the Economic and Social Council are listed in annex I to the present note. For the information of the Economic and Social Council, annex II lists the members of the Executive Board elected by the FAO Council. Annex III lists the States Members of the United Nations and the States members of FAO for election to the Executive Board.

2/7 17-01554

Annex I

Eighteen members elected by the Economic and Social Council to the Executive Board of the World Food Programme

(Three-year term)

Membership in 2017

Four seats for States on List A

Egypt (2019), Liberia (2018), Sudan (2019), Swaziland* (2017)

Four seats for States on List B

Bangladesh (2018), China* (2017), India (2018), Saudi Arabia (2019)

Two seats for States on List C

Mexico (2019), Panama* (2017)

Six seats for States on List D

Finland (2019), France (2018), Japan* (2017), Netherlands (2018), Spain (2019), United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland* (2017)

Two seats for States on List E

Hungary* (2017), Russian Federation (2018)

17-01554

^{*} Retiring member.

Annex II

Eighteen members elected by the Council of the Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations to the Executive Board of the World Food Programme

(Three-year term)

Membership in 2017^a

Four seats for States on List A

Benin (2018), Congo (2019), Libya (2017), Zimbabwe (2019)

Four seats for States on List B (three regular seats and one rotating seat)^b

Afghanistan (2018), Iran (Islamic Republic of) (2017), Kuwait (2018), Pakistan (2019)

Three seats for States on List C

Argentina (2019), Brazil (2017), Peru (2018)

Six seats for States on List D

Australia (2017), Canada (2019), Denmark (2017), Germany (2019), Switzerland (2018), United States of America (2018)

One seat for States on List E

Poland (2017)

4/7 17-01554

^a Further information on the members elected by the Council of the Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations (FAO) is available from http://executiveboard.wfp.org/members-of-the-board.

b The Islamic Republic of Iran is occupying the rotating seat for the second term. The rotating seat is to be occupied by a country on: List A (first term — 2012-2014), List B (second term — 2015-2017), List C (third term — 2018-2020) and List D (fourth term — 2021-2023).

Annex III

Lists of States Members of the United Nations and members of the Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations for election to the Executive Board of the World Food Programme^a

Nigeria

1. Developing countries and territories

List AAlgeria

Gabon Rwanda Angola Benin Gambia Sao Tome and Principe Senegal Botswana Ghana Seychelles Burkina Faso Guinea Sierra Leone Guinea-Bissau Burundi Cameroon Kenya Somalia Cabo Verde Lesotho

Ethiopia

South Africa Liberia Central African Republic Sudan Chad Libya Swaziland Comoros Madagascar Togo Congo Malawi Tunisia Côte d'Ivoire Mali Uganda

Democratic Republic of Mauritania United Republic of Tanzania

the Congo Mauritius Zambia Djibouti Morocco Zimbabwe

Egypt Mozambique Equatorial Guinea Namibia Eritrea Niger

List B

Group I

Afghanistan Kuwait Syrian Arab Republic

Bahrain Kyrgyzstan Tajikistan Iran (Islamic Republic of) Lebanon Turkmenistan

Iraq Oman United Arab Emirates

JordanQatarUzbekistanKazakhstanSaudi ArabiaYemen

17-01554

^a From appendix A to the General Regulations of the World Food Programme. In the event of a change in the membership of the United Nations or the Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations (FAO), the appropriate change will be made by the secretariats of the United Nations and FAO, respectively, after the necessary consultations with Member States.

Group II

Bangladesh Malaysia Philippines
Bhutan Maldives Republic of Korea

Brunei Darussalam Marshall Islands Samoa Cambodia Micronesia (Federated Singapore China States of) Solomon Islands Cook Islands Mongolia Sri Lanka Democratic People's Republic Myanmar Thailand of Korea Nauru Timor-Leste Fiji Nepal Tonga India Niue Tuvalu

Pakistan

Palau

Vanuatu

Viet Nam

Lao People's Democratic Papua New Guinea

Republic

Indonesia

Kiribati

List C

Antigua and Barbuda Dominican Republic Paraguay
Argentina Ecuador Peru

Bahamas El Salvador Saint Kitts and Nevis

Barbados Grenada Saint Lucia

Belize Guatemala Saint Vincent and the Bolivia (Plurinational State of) Guyana Grenadines
Brazil Haiti Suriname

Chile Honduras Trinidad and Tobago

Colombia Jamaica Uruguay

Costa Rica Mexico Venezuela (Bolivarian Cuba Nicaragua Republic of)

Dominica Panama

2. Economically developed countries

List D

Andorra Iceland Norway Australia Ireland Portugal Austria Israel San Marino Belgium Italy Spain Canada Japan Sweden Cyprus Liechtenstein Switzerland Turkey Denmark Luxembourg

Finland Malta United Kingdom of Great France Monaco Britain and Northern

Germany Netherlands Ireland

Greece New Zealand United States of America

6/7 17-01554

List E

Albania Estonia Romania

Armenia Georgia Russian Federation

Azerbaijan Hungary Serbia
Belarus Latvia Slovakia
Bosnia and Herzegovina Lithuania Slovenia

Bulgaria Montenegro The former Yugoslav Croatia Poland Republic of Macedonia

Czechia Republic of Moldova Ukraine

17-01554