

Distr.: General 1 February 2017

Original: English

2017 session 28 July 2016-27 July 2017 Agenda item 4 Elections, nominations, confirmations and appointments

# Election of 11 members of the Executive Board of the United Nations Development Programme/United Nations Population Fund/United Nations Office for Project Services

## Note by the Secretary-General

1. The Executive Board of the United Nations Development Programme/United Nations Population Fund/United Nations Office for Project Services has 36 members, elected with due regard to equitable geographical representation and other relevant factors, with a view to ensuring the most effective and broadest representation.

2. Under the terms of General Assembly resolution 48/162, the Economic and Social Council is to elect 11 members of the Executive Board from among States Members of the United Nations or members of the specialized agencies or of the International Atomic Energy Agency, for a three-year term beginning on 1 January 2018, to fill the vacancies that will occur on 31 December 2017 upon the expiration of the terms of the following members: Antigua and Barbuda, Finland, Guinea, India, Libya, New Zealand, the Russian Federation, Sweden, the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland, Venezuela (Bolivarian Republic of) and Yemen.

3. The election will be held at the coordination and management meetings of the Council, to be held from 19 to 21 April 2017.

- 4. The members are to be elected according to the following pattern:
  - (a) Two members from African States;
  - (b) Two members from Asia-Pacific States;
  - (c) One member from Eastern European States;
  - (d) Two members from Latin American and Caribbean States;
  - (e) Four members from Western European and other States.

5. The membership of the Executive Board in 2017 is listed in the annex to the present note.





Please recycle

### Annex

## Executive Board of the United Nations Development Programme/United Nations Population Fund/ United Nations Office for Project Services

(36 members; three-year term)

### Membership in 2017

#### **Eight members from African States**

Benin (2018), Cameroon (2018), Chad (2018), Guinea\* (2017), Libya\* (2017), Malawi (2018), Mauritius (2019), Uganda (2018)

#### Seven members from Asia-Pacific States

China (2019), India\* (2017), Iran (Islamic Republic of) (2019), Lao People's Democratic Republic (2018), Republic of Korea (2018), Samoa (2018), Yemen\* (2017)

#### Four members from Eastern European States

Albania (2019), Belarus (2018), Republic of Moldova (2019), Russian Federation\* (2017)

#### Five members from Latin American and Caribbean States

Antigua and Barbuda\* (2017), Cuba (2019), Haiti (2018), Panama (2019), Venezuela (Bolivarian Republic of)\* (2017)

#### Twelve members from Western European and other States

Australia<sup>a</sup> (2018), Denmark<sup>b</sup> (2018), Finland<sup>\*,c</sup> (2017), France (2018), Germany (2019), Japan (2018), Netherlands (2019), New Zealand<sup>\*,d</sup> (2017), Norway (2019), Sweden<sup>\*</sup> (2017), United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland<sup>\*,e</sup> (2017), United States of America (2019)

<sup>\*</sup> Retiring member.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>a</sup> Replaced Spain as from 1 January 2017.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>b</sup> Replaced Austria as from 1 January 2017.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>c</sup> Replaced Belgium as from 1 January 2017.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>d</sup> Replaced Turkey as from 1 January 2017.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>e</sup> Replaced Canada as from 1 January 2017.