United Nations E/2017/9/Add.5



# **Economic and Social Council**

Distr.: General 1 February 2017

Original: English

2017 session

28 July 2016-27 July 2017 Agenda item 4

Elections, nominations, confirmations and appointments

# Election of 11 members of the Executive Board of the United Nations Children's Fund

# Note by the Secretary-General

- 1. The Executive Board of the United Nations Children's Fund is made up of 36 members, elected with due regard to equitable geographical representation and other relevant factors, with a view to ensuring the most effective and broadest representation.
- 2. Under the terms of General Assembly resolution 48/162, the Economic and Social Council is to elect 11 members of the Executive Board from among States Members of the United Nations or members of the specialized agencies or of the International Atomic Energy Agency, for a three-year term beginning on 1 January 2018, to fill the vacancies that will occur on 31 December 2017 upon the expiration of the terms of the following members: Bangladesh, Belarus, Burkina Faso, Colombia, Cuba, Eritrea, Ireland, Japan, Luxembourg, the Republic of Korea and the United States of America.
- 3. The election will be held at the coordination and management meetings of the Council, to be held from 19 to 21 April 2017.
- 4. The members are to be elected according to the following pattern:
  - (a) Two members from African States;
  - (b) Two members from Asia-Pacific States;
  - (c) One member from Eastern European States;
  - (d) Two members from Latin American and Caribbean States;
  - (e) Four members from Western European and other States.
- 5. The membership of the Executive Board in 2017 is listed in the annex to the present note.





### Annex

# **Executive Board of the United Nations Children's Fund**

(36 members; three-year term)

# Membership in 2017

#### Eight members from African States

Angola (2019), Botswana (2018), Burkina Faso\* (2017), Cameroon (2018), Eritrea\* (2017), Ethiopia (2018), Libya (2018), Sierra Leone (2018)

#### Seven members from Asia-Pacific States

Bangladesh\* (2017), China (2019), India (2018), Iran (Islamic Republic of) (2018), Nepal (2018), Republic of Korea\* (2017), Saudi Arabia (2019)

# Four members from Eastern European States

Belarus\* (2017), Bosnia and Herzegovina (2018), Czechia (2019), Russian Federation (2019)

#### Five members from Latin American and Caribbean States

Antigua and Barbuda (2019), Colombia\* (2017), Cuba\* (2017), El Salvador (2018), Guatemala (2019)

#### Twelve members from Western European and other States

Canada<sup>a</sup> (2018), Denmark (2018), France<sup>b</sup> (2018), Germany (2019), Ireland\*<sup>c</sup> (2017), Japan\* (2017), Luxembourg\* (2017), Norway (2019), Spain (2019), Sweden (2018), United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland (2019), United States of America\* (2017)

\* Retiring member.

2/2

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>a</sup> Replaced Switzerland as from 1 January 2017.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>b</sup> Replaced Australia as from 1 January 2017.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>c</sup> Replaced Finland as from 1 January 2017.