United Nations E/2017/9/Add.4



Economic and Social Council

Distr.: General 1 February 2017

Original: English

2017 session

28 July 2016-27 July 2017 Agenda item 4

Elections, nominations, confirmations and appointments

Election of twenty-one members of the Intergovernmental Working Group of Experts on International Standards of Accounting and Reporting

Note by the Secretary-General

- 1. Under the terms of its resolutions 1982/67 and 1985/71, the Economic and Social Council is to elect 21 members of the Intergovernmental Working Group of Experts on International Standards of Accounting and Reporting, for a three-year term beginning on 1 January 2018, to fill the vacancies that will occur on 31 December 2017 upon the expiration of the terms of the following members: China, Germany, Kyrgyzstan, Malawi and Russian Federation. In addition, the four seats from African States, the one seat from Asia-Pacific States, the three seats from Latin American and Caribbean States and the eight seats from Western European and other States that remain vacant are to be filled.
- 2. The election will be held at the coordination and management meetings of the Council, to be held from 19 to 21 April 2017.
- 3. The members are to be elected according to the following pattern:
 - (a) Five members from African States (includes four outstanding vacancies);
- (b) Three members from Asia-Pacific States (includes one outstanding vacancy);
 - (c) One member from Eastern European States;
- (d) Three members from Latin American and Caribbean States (all outstanding vacancies);
- (e) Nine members from Western European and other States (includes eight outstanding vacancies).
- 4. The membership of the Working Group in 2017 is listed in the annex to the present note.





Annex

Intergovernmental Working Group of Experts on International Standards of Accounting and Reporting

(34 members; three-year term)

Membership in 2017

Nine members from African States^a

Benin (2018), Cameroon (2018), Kenya (2018), Malawi* (2017), Uganda (2018)

Seven members from Asia-Pacific States^b

China* (2017), Kazakhstan (2018), Kyrgyzstan* (2017), Philippines (2018)

Three members from Eastern European States^c

Russian Federation* (2017), Ukraine (2018)

Six members from Latin American and Caribbean States^d

Brazil (2018)

Nine members from Western European and other States^e

Germany* (2017)

* Retiring member.

2/2

^a There are four vacancies in this group for members whose term would begin on the date of election and expire on 31 December 2017 (see Council decision 2016/201 D).

b There are three vacancies in this group: one for a member whose term would begin on the date of election and expire on 31 December 2017 and two for members whose term would begin on the date of election and expire on 31 December 2018 (see Council decision 2016/201 D).

^c There is one vacancy in this group for a member whose term would begin on the date of election and expire on 31 December 2018 (see Council decision 2016/201 D).

d There are five vacancies in this group: three for members whose terms would begin on the date of election and expire on 31 December 2017 and two for members whose terms would begin on the date of election and expire on 31 December 2018 (see Council decision 2016/201 D).

^e There are eight vacancies in this group for members whose term would begin on the date of election and expire on 31 December 2017 (see Council decision 2016/201 D).