

Distr.: General 18 January 2016

Original: English

2016 session 24 July 2015-27 July 2016 Agenda item 4 Elections, nominations, confirmations and appointments

Election of 11 members of the Executive Board of the United Nations Development Programme/United Nations Population Fund/United Nations Office for Project Services

Note by the Secretary-General

1. The Executive Board of the United Nations Development Programme/United Nations Population Fund/United Nations Office for Project Services has 36 members, elected with due regard to equitable geographical representation and other relevant factors, with a view to ensuring the most effective and broadest representation.

2. Under the terms of General Assembly resolution 48/162, the Economic and Social Council is to elect 11 members of the Executive Board from among States Members of the United Nations or members of the specialized agencies or of the International Atomic Energy Agency, for a three-year term beginning on 1 January 2017, to fill the vacancies that will occur on 31 December 2016 upon the expiration of the terms of the following members: Armenia, China, Cuba, Ecuador, Montenegro, Nepal, Netherlands, Norway, Switzerland, United Republic of Tanzania and United States of America.

3. The election will be held at the coordination and management meetings of the Council, from 4 to 6 April 2016.

- 4. The members are to be elected according to the following pattern:
 - (a) One member from African States;
 - (b) Two members from Asia-Pacific States;
 - (c) Two members from Eastern European States;
 - (d) Two members from Latin American and Caribbean States;
 - (e) Four members from Western European and other States.

5. The membership of the Executive Board in 2016 is listed in the annex to the present note.



Please recycle



Annex

Executive Board of the United Nations Development Programme/United Nations Population Fund/ United Nations Office for Project Services

(36 members; three-year term)

Membership in 2016

Eight members from African States

Benin (2018), Cameroon (2018), Chad (2018), Guinea (2017), Libya (2017), Malawi (2018), Uganda (2018), United Republic of Tanzania* (2016)

Seven members from Asia-Pacific States

China* (2016), India (2017), Lao People's Democratic Republic (2018), Nepal* (2016), Republic of Korea (2018), Samoa (2018), Yemen (2017)

Four members from Eastern European States

Armenia* (2016), Belarus (2018), Montenegro* (2016), Russian Federation (2017)

Five members from Latin American and Caribbean States

Antigua and Barbuda (2017), Cuba* (2016), Ecuador* (2016), Haiti (2018), Venezuela (Bolivarian Republic of) (2017)

Twelve members from Western European and other States

Austria (2018), Belgium^a (2017), Canada^b (2017), France (2018), Japan (2018), Netherlands* (2016), Norway* (2016), Spain (2018), Sweden (2017), Switzerland^{*,c} (2016), Turkey^d (2017), United States of America* (2016)

^{*} Retiring member.

^a Replaced Australia as from 1 January 2016.

^b Replaced Denmark as from 1 January 2016.

^c Replaced Italy as from 1 January 2016.

^d Replaced United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland as from 1 January 2016.