United Nations E/2015/9/Add.11



Economic and Social Council

Distr.: General 28 January 2015

Original: English

2015 session

21 July 2014-22 July 2015 Agenda item 4

Elections, nominations, confirmations and appointments

Election of 19 members of the Governing Council of the United Nations Human Settlements Programme

Note by the Secretary-General

- 1. Pursuant to General Assembly resolution 56/206, the Economic and Social Council is to elect 19 members of the Governing Council of the United Nations Human Settlements Programme for a four-year term beginning on 1 January 2016 to fill the vacancies that will occur on 31 December 2015 upon the expiration of the terms of the following members: Bahrain, Brazil, Burkina Faso, Congo, Germany, Haiti, India, Israel, Italy, Jordan, Lesotho, Mexico, Saudi Arabia, South Africa, Thailand and United Republic of Tanzania. In addition, the two seats from Eastern European States and one seat from Western European and other States that remain vacant are to be filled.
- 2. The election will be held at the coordination and management meetings of the Council, from 8 to 10 April 2015.
- 3. In accordance with paragraph 4 of section I.A of Assembly resolution 56/206, the 19 members are to be elected according to the following pattern:
 - (a) Five members from African States;
 - (b) Five members from Asia-Pacific States:
 - (c) Two members from Eastern European States;
 - (d) Three members from Latin American and Caribbean States;
 - (e) Four members from Western European and other States.
- 4. The membership of the Governing Council in 2015 is listed in the annex to the present note.





Annex

Governing Council of the United Nations Human Settlements Programme

(58 members; four-year term)

Membership in 2015

Sixteen members from African States

Benin (2016), Burkina Faso* (2015), Congo* (2015), Democratic Republic of the Congo (2018), Egypt (2018), Gabon (2018), Ghana (2018), Lesotho* (2015), Madagascar (2016), Morocco (2016), Senegal (2018), Somalia (2016), South Africa* (2015), Uganda (2016), United Republic of Tanzania* (2015), Zimbabwe (2018)

Thirteen members from Asia-Pacific States

Bahrain* (2015), Bangladesh (2016), China (2016), India* (2015), Indonesia (2018), Iran (Islamic Republic of) (2018), Iraq (2018), Japan (2018), Jordan* (2015), Republic of Korea (2016), Saudi Arabia* (2015), Sri Lanka (2016), Thailand* (2015)

Six members from Eastern European States^a

Belarus (2016), Romania (2016), Russian Federation (2018), Slovakia (2018)

Ten members from Latin American and Caribbean States

Antigua and Barbuda (2016), Argentina (2018), Brazil* (2015), Colombia (2016), Ecuador (2018), El Salvador (2016), Guatemala (2018), Haiti* (2015), Mexico* (2015), Uruguay (2018)

Thirteen members from Western European and other States^b

Finland (2018), France (2016), Germany* (2015), Israel* (2015), Italy* (2015), Norway (2016), Spain (2016), United States of America (2018)

2/2 15-00952

^{*} Retiring member.

^a There are two vacancies in this group for members whose terms would begin on the date of election and expire on 31 December 2015 (see Council decision 2014/201 B).

b There are five vacancies in this group: one for a member whose term would expire on 31 December 2015, two for members whose terms would expire on 31 December 2016 and two for members whose terms would expire on 31 December 2018, all for terms beginning on the date of election (see Council decision 2014/201 B).