United Nations E/2015/9/Add.2



# **Economic and Social Council**

Distr.: General 26 January 2015

Original: English

2015 session

21 July 2014-22 July 2015 Agenda item 4

Elections, nominations, confirmations and appointments

# Nomination of seven members of the Committee for Programme and Coordination

### Note by the Secretary-General

- 1. In accordance with Economic and Social Council resolution 2008 (LX) and General Assembly decision 42/450, the Council is to nominate seven members for election by the Assembly at its seventieth session to fill the vacancies in the Committee for Programme and Coordination that will occur on 31 December 2015 upon the expiration of the terms of the following members: Botswana, El Salvador, France, Peru, Russian Federation and United Republic of Tanzania, as well as one member from Western European and other States whose seat remains vacant. The term of office is three years, beginning on 1 January 2016.
- 2. The Council is reminded that the General Assembly, in section III of its resolution 3392 (XXX) on the review of the intergovernmental and expert machinery dealing with the formulation, review and approval of programmes and budgets, encouraged Member States to be represented in the Committee for Programme and Coordination at an adequate level in order to raise the expertise of the Committee.
- 3. The election will be held at the coordination and management meetings of the Council, from 8 to 10 April 2015.
- 4. The vacancies are to be filled according to the following pattern:

Two members from African States;

One member from Eastern European States;

Two members from Latin American and Caribbean States;

Two members from Western European and other States (includes one unfilled vacancy).

5. The membership of the Committee in 2015 is set out in the annex to the present note.





# Annex

# **Committee for Programme and Coordination**

#### (34 members; three-year term)

#### Membership in 2015

#### **Nine members from African States**

Benin (2016), Botswana\* (2015), Burkina Faso (2017), Cameroon (2017), Equatorial Guinea (2017), Ethiopia (2016), Morocco (2016), Namibia (2017), United Republic of Tanzania\* (2015)

#### Seven members from Asia-Pacific States<sup>a</sup>

China (2016), Iran (Islamic Republic of) (2017), Japan (2016), Pakistan (2017), Republic of Korea (2016), Saudi Arabia (2017)

#### Four members from Eastern European States

Armenia (2017), Belarus (2017), Russian Federation\* (2015), Ukraine (2017)

#### Seven members from Latin American and Caribbean States

Brazil (2017), Cuba (2017), El Salvador\* (2015), Haiti (2016), Peru\* (2015), Uruguay (2017), Venezuela (Bolivarian Republic of) (2017)

## Seven members from Western European and other States<sup>b</sup>

France\* (2015), Italy (2017), United States of America (2017)

2/2

<sup>\*</sup> Retiring member.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>a</sup> There is one vacancy in this group for a member whose term would begin on the date of election by the General Assembly and expire on 31 December 2017 (see Council decision 2014/201 B).

b There are four vacancies in this group: one for a member whose term would expire on 31 December 2015 and three for members whose terms would expire on 31 December 2017, all for a term beginning on the date of election by the General Assembly (see Council decision 2014/201 B).