United Nations E/2015/9/Add.10



Economic and Social Council

Distr.: General 28 January 2015

Original: English

2015 session

21 July 2014-22 July 2015 Agenda item 4

Elections, nominations, confirmations and appointments

Election of nine members of the Programme Coordinating Board of the Joint United Nations Programme on HIV/AIDS

Note by the Secretary-General

- 1. The Programme Coordinating Board of the Joint United Nations Programme on HIV/AIDS (UNAIDS) has 22 members. In accordance with its decision 1995/223, the Economic and Social Council is to elect, from among States Members of the United Nations and observer States, nine members of the Programme Coordinating Board for a three-year term beginning on 1 January 2016 to fill the vacancies that will occur on 31 December 2015 upon the expiration of the terms of the following members: China, Guyana, Japan, Netherlands, Poland, Sierra Leone, Switzerland, United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland and Zimbabwe.
- 2. The election will be held at the coordination and management meetings of the Council, from 8 to 10 April 2015.
- 3. The nine members are to be elected according to the following pattern:
 - (a) Two members from African States;
 - (b) Two members from Asia-Pacific States;
 - (c) One member from Eastern European States;
 - (d) One member from Latin American and Caribbean States;
 - (e) Three members from Western European and other States.
- 4. The membership of the Programme Coordinating Board in 2015 is listed in the annex to the present note.





Annex

Programme Coordinating Board of the Joint United Nations Programme on HIV/AIDS

(22 members; three-year term)

Membership in 2015

Five members from African States

Burundi (2017), Morocco (2016), Sierra Leone* (2015), United Republic of Tanzania (2016), Zimbabwe* (2015)

Five members from Asia-Pacific States

China* (2015), India (2016), Iran (Islamic Republic of) (2017), Japan* (2015), Kazakhstan (2016)

Two members from Eastern European States

Poland* (2015), Ukraine (2016)

Three members from Latin American and Caribbean States

Brazil (2017), El Salvador (2016), Guyana* (2015)

Seven members from Western European and other States

Canada (2017), Denmark (2017), France (2016), Netherlands*,a (2015), Switzerland* (2015), United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland* (2015), United States of America (2016)

* Retiring member.

2/2

^a Replaced Luxembourg as from 1 January 2015.