United Nations E/2014/9/Add.4



Economic and Social Council

Distr.: General 12 February 2014

Original: English

2014 session

Item 4 of the provisional agenda*

Elections, nominations, confirmations and appointments

Election of 11 members of the Executive Board of the United Nations Children's Fund

Note by the Secretary-General

- 1. The Executive Board of the United Nations Children's Fund has 36 members, elected with due regard to equitable geographical representation and other relevant factors, with a view to ensuring the most effective and broadest representation.
- 2. Under the terms of General Assembly resolution 48/162, the Economic and Social Council is to elect 11 members of the Executive Board from among States Members of the United Nations or members of the specialized agencies or of the International Atomic Energy Agency, for a three-year term beginning on 1 January 2015, to fill the vacancies that will occur on 31 December 2014 upon the expiration of the terms of the following members: Albania, Belgium, Cuba, Gambia, Haiti, India, Japan, Kenya, Norway, Republic of Korea and United States of America.
- 3. The election will be held at the coordination and management meetings of the Council, from 23 to 25 April 2014.
- 4. The members are to be elected according to the following pattern:
 - (a) Two members from African States;
 - (b) Two members from Asia-Pacific States;
 - (c) One member from Eastern European States;
 - (d) Two members from Latin American and Caribbean States;
 - (e) Four members from Western European and other States.
- 5. The membership of the Executive Board in 2014 is listed in the annex to the present note.

^{*} E/2014/1/Rev.1, annex II.







Annex

Executive Board of the United Nations Children's Fund

(36 members; three-year term)

Membership in 2014

Eight members from African States

Central African Republic (2015), Democratic Republic of the Congo (2015), Djibouti (2015), Egypt (2015), Gambia* (2014), Ghana (2015), Kenya* (2014), Zambia (2016)

Seven members from Asia-Pacific States

China (2016), India* (2014), Iran (Islamic Republic of) (2015), Pakistan (2015), Papua New Guinea (2016), Republic of Korea* (2014), Thailand (2015)

Four members from Eastern European States

Albania* (2014), Bulgaria (2015), Estonia (2016), Russian Federation (2016)

Five members from Latin American and Caribbean States

Antigua and Barbuda (2016), Cuba* (2014), Guyana (2015), Haiti* (2014), Panama (2016)

Twelve members from Western European and other States

Belgium* (2014), Denmark (2015), France (2015), Germany (2016), Italy (2016), Japan*, a (2014), Netherlands (2016), New Zealandb (2015), Norway* (2014), Sweden (2015), United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland (2016), United States of America* (2014)

2/2

^{*} Retiring member as at 31 December 2014.

^a Replaced Greece as from 1 January 2014.

^b Replaced Canada as from 1 January 2014.