United Nations  $E_{/2012/9/Add.8}$ 



# **Economic and Social Council**

Distr.: General 7 February 2012

Original: English

Resumed organizational session for 2012 26 and 27 April 2012 Agenda item 4 Elections, nominations, confirmations and appointments

# **Election of six members of the Executive Board of the World Food Programme**

### Note by the Secretary-General

- 1. The Executive Board of the World Food Programme has 36 members, elected from among the States Members of the United Nations and the States members of the Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations (FAO). In accordance with General Assembly resolution 65/266 of 7 March 2011 and FAO Conference resolution 7/2011 of 2 July 2011, the Economic and Social Council and the Council of FAO elect 18 members of the Executive Board each, according to the pattern set out in Assembly resolution 65/266.
- 2. The Economic and Social Council is to elect, at its resumed organizational session for 2012, six members of the Executive Board for a three-year term beginning on 1 January 2013 to fill the vacancies that will occur on 31 December 2012 upon the expiration of the terms of the following members: Burkina Faso, France, India, Iran (Islamic Republic of), Russian Federation and Spain.
- 3. The six members are to be elected according to the following pattern: 1
  - (a) One member from the States included in List A;
  - (b) Two members from the States included in List B;
  - (c) Two members from the States included in List D;
  - (d) One member from the States included in List E.
- 4. The 18 members of the Executive Board elected by the Economic and Social Council are listed in annex I to the present note. Annex II lists the members of the Executive Board elected by the FAO Council for the information of the Economic and Social Council. Annex III lists the States Members of the United Nations and the States members of FAO for election to the Executive Board.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>1</sup> The members are elected from lists set out in the Basic Texts of the World Food Programme. The lists are reproduced in annex III to the present note.





#### Annex I

# Eighteen members elected by the Economic and Social Council to the Executive Board of the World Food Programme

(Three-year term)

#### Membership in 2012

#### Four seats for States on List A

Burkina Faso\* (2012), Morocco (2013), Sudan (2013), Zambia (2014)

#### Four seats for States on List B

China (2014), India\* (2012), Iran (Islamic Republic of)\* (2012), Republic of Korea (2013)

#### Two seats for States on List C

Cuba (2013), Guatemala (2014)

#### Six seats for States on List D

Australia (2013), France\* (2012), Japan (2014), Norway (2013), Spain\* (2012), United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland (2014)

#### Two seats for States on List E

Czech Republic (2014), Russian Federation\* (2012)

**2** 12-22590

<sup>\*</sup> Retiring member.

#### Annex II

# Eighteen members elected by the Council of the Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations to the Executive Board of the World Food Programme<sup>a</sup>

(Three-year term)

#### Membership in 2012

#### Five seats for States on List A (four regular seats and one rotating seat)

Cameroon (2013), Ghana (2014), Kenya\* (2012), South Africa (2013), Tunisia (2014)

#### Three seats for States on List B

Jordan\* (2012), Philippines\* (2012), Saudi Arabia (2013)

#### Three seats for States on List C

Brazil (2014), Haiti (2013), Mexico\* (2012)

#### Six seats for States on List D

Belgium (2014), Canada (2013), Germany (2013), Netherlands\* (2012), Sweden (2014), United States of America\* (2012)

#### One seat for States on List E

Slovakia (2014)

12-22590

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>a</sup> Ghana is occupying the rotating seat. The rotating seat is to be occupied by a country on: List A (first term — 2012-2014), List B (second term — 2015-2017), List A (third term — 2018-2020) and List C (fourth term — 2021-2023).

<sup>\*</sup> Retiring member.

#### Annex III

# Lists of States Members of the United Nations and members of the Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations for election to the Executive Board of the World Food Programme<sup>a</sup>

#### 1. Developing countries and territories

#### List A

Algeria Eritrea Namibia
Angola Ethiopia Niger
Benin Gabon Nigeria
Botswana Gambia Rwanda

Burkina Faso Ghana Sao Tome and Principe

Burundi Guinea Senegal Cameroon Guinea-Bissau Seychelles Cape Verde Kenva Sierra Leone Central African Republic Lesotho Somalia Liberia South Africa Chad Comoros Libyan Arab Jamahiriya Sudan Congo Madagascar Swaziland Côte d'Ivoire Malawi Togo Democratic Republic of Mali Tunisia the Congo Mauritania Uganda

Djibouti Mauritius United Republic of Tanzania

Egypt Morocco Zambia Equatorial Guinea Mozambique Zimbabwe

#### List B

#### Group I

Afghanistan Kuwait Syrian Arab Republic

Bahrain Kyrgyzstan Tajikistan Iran (Islamic Republic of) Lebanon Turkmenistan

Iraq Oman United Arab Emirates

JordanQatarUzbekistanKazakhstanSaudi ArabiaYemen

4 12-22590

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>a</sup> From appendix A to the General Regulations of the World Food Programme. In the event of a change in the membership of the United Nations or the Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations (FAO), the appropriate change will be made by the secretariats of the United Nations and FAO, respectively, after the necessary consultations with Member States.

#### Group II

Bangladesh Malaysia Philippines
Bhutan Maldives Republic of Korea

Brunei Darussalam Marshall Islands Samoa Cambodia Micronesia (Federated Singapore China States of) Solomon Islands Cook Islands Mongolia Sri Lanka Democratic People's Myanmar Thailand Republic of Korea Nauru Timor-Leste Fiji Nepal Tonga India Niue Tuvalu Pakistan Vanuatu Indonesia Kiribati Palau Viet Nam

Lao People's Democratic Papua New Guinea

Republic

#### List C

Antigua and Barbuda Dominican Republic Paraguay
Argentina Ecuador Peru

Bahamas El Salvador Saint Kitts and Nevis

Barbados Grenada Saint Lucia

Belize Guatemala Saint Vincent and the Bolivia Guyana Grenadines

Brazil Haiti Suriname

Chile Honduras Trinidad and Tobago

Colombia Jamaica Uruguay

Panama

Costa Rica Mexico Venezuela (Bolivarian

Cuba Nicaragua Republic of)

#### 2. Economically developed countries

#### List D

Dominica

Andorra Iceland Norway Australia Ireland Portugal Austria Israel San Marino Belgium Italy Spain Sweden Canada Japan Switzerland Cyprus Liechtenstein Denmark Luxembourg Turkey

Finland Malta United Kingdom of Great France Monaco Britain and Northern

Germany Netherlands Ireland

Greece New Zealand United States of America

12-22590

#### List E

Albania Estonia Romania

Armenia Georgia Russian Federation

Azerbaijan Hungary Serbia
Belarus Latvia Slovakia
Bosnia and Herzegovina Lithuania Slovenia

Bulgaria Montenegro The former Yugoslav Croatia Poland Republic of Macedonia

Czech Republic Republic of Moldova Ukraine

**6** 12-22590