United Nations $E_{/2012/9/Add.7}$



Economic and Social Council

Distr.: General 15 February 2012

Original: English

Resumed organizational session for 2012

26 and 27 April 2012 Agenda item 4

Elections, nominations, confirmations and appointments

Election of 17 members of the Executive Board of the United Nations Entity for Gender Equality and the Empowerment of Women

Note by the Secretary-General

- 1. The Executive Board of the United Nations Entity for Gender Equality and the Empowerment of Women has 41 members, elected in accordance with General Assembly resolution 64/289 and Economic and Social Council resolution 2010/35 and decision 2010/261.
- 2. In accordance with its resolution 2010/35, the Economic and Social Council is to elect, at its resumed organizational session for 2012, 17 members of the Executive Board from among States Members of the United Nations for a three-year term beginning on 1 January 2013, to fill the vacancies that will occur on 31 December 2012 upon the expiration of the terms of the following members: Argentina, Bangladesh, Brazil, Canada, Côte d'Ivoire, Democratic Republic of the Congo, El Salvador, Estonia, India, Lesotho, Libya, Malaysia, New Zealand, Pakistan, Russian Federation, Timor-Leste and United Republic of Tanzania.
- 3. The 17 members are to be elected according to the following pattern:
 - (a) Five members from African States;
 - (b) Five members from Asia-Pacific States;
 - (c) Two members from Eastern European States;
 - (d) Three members from Latin American and Caribbean States;
 - (e) Two members from Western European and other States.
- 4. The membership of the Executive Board in 2012 is listed in the annex to the present note.





Annex

Executive Board of the United Nations Entity for Gender Equality and the Empowerment of Women

(41 members; two- and three-year terms)a

Membership in 2012

Members from the regional category, in accordance with Council resolution 2010/35

Ten members from African States

Angola (2013), Cape Verde (2013), Congo (2013), Côte d'Ivoire* (2012), Democratic Republic of the Congo* (2012), Ethiopia (2013), Lesotho* (2012), Libya* (2012), Nigeria (2013), United Republic of Tanzania* (2012)

Ten members from Asia-Pacific States

Bangladesh* (2012), China (2013), India* (2012), Indonesia (2013), Japan (2013), Kazakhstan (2013), Malaysia* (2012), Pakistan* (2012), Republic of Korea (2013), Timor-Leste* (2012)

Four members from Eastern European States

Estonia* (2012), Hungary (2013), Russian Federation* (2012), Ukraine (2013)

Six members from Latin American and Caribbean States

Argentina* (2012), Brazil* (2012), Dominican Republic (2013), El Salvador* (2012), Grenada (2013), Peru (2013)

Five members from Western European and other States

Canada* (2012), Finland (2013), Netherlands (2013), New Zealand* (2012), United States of America (2013)

Four members from the top 10 voluntary core contributing countries, in accordance with paragraph 61 (a) of General Assembly resolution 64/289

Norway (2013), Spain (2013), United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland (2013), Sweden (2013)

Two members from the top 10 voluntary core contributing countries, in accordance with paragraph 61 (b) of General Assembly resolution 64/289

Mexico (2013), Saudi Arabia (2013)

* Retiring member.

2 12-23358

^a See Economic and Social Council resolution 2010/35.