CONFERENCE ON DISARMAMENT

CD/1870/Rev.2 27 August 2009

Original: ENGLISH

<u>Draft decision on the implementation of CD/1864</u> for the 2009 session of the Conference on Disarmament

The Conference on Disarmament,

Recalling the adoption, on 29 May 2009, of the decision for the establishment of a Programme of Work for the 2009 session¹;

Without prejudice to the Conference's decisions on programmes of work to be adopted for future calendar years;

Agrees on the following as regards the implementation of the 2009 Programme of Work:

- a. the conduct of work and decision-making, including on adoption of reports, under the Conference Working Groups and Special Coordinators for the 2009 session will comply with the Rules of Procedure of the Conference, including *inter alia* paragraph 18 thereof;
- b. rotation and equitable geographic representation will apply to office bearers under (a) above; and
- c. the Conference will aim at ensuring a balanced consideration of all agenda items consistent with CD/1864 while recognizing the principle of undiminished security for all.

Decides the following:

<u>A</u>

1.	Ambassador Dian	Triansyah Djani of Indonesia is appointed as Chairman of the World	king
Group	under agenda item	1 entitled "Cessation of the nuclear arms race and nuclear	
disarm	ament", according t	to paragraph 1 of decision CD/1864;	

I	C	D	1	8	6	1

_

- 2. Ambassador Jürg Streuli of Switzerland is appointed as Chairman of the Working Group under agenda item 1 entitled "Cessation of the nuclear arms race and nuclear disarmament", according to paragraph 2 of decision CD/1864;
- 3. Ambassador Luiz Filipe de Macedo Soares of Brazil is appointed as Chairman of the Working Group under agenda item 3 entitled "Prevention of an arms race in outer space", according to paragraph 3 of decision CD/1864;
- 4. Ambassador Mykola Maimeskul of Ukraine is appointed as Chairman of the Working Group under agenda item 4 entitled "Effective international arrangements to assure non-nuclear-weapon States against the use or threat of use of nuclear weapons", according to paragraph 4 of decision CD/1864;
- 5. Ambassador Chitsaka Chipaziwa of Zimbabwe is appointed as Special Coordinator under agenda item 5 entitled "New types of weapons of mass destruction and new systems of such weapons; radiological weapons", according to paragraph 5 of decision CD/1864;
- 6. Ambassador Mabel Gómez Oliver of Mexico is appointed as Special Coordinator under agenda item 6 entitled "Comprehensive programme of disarmament", according to paragraph 6 of decision CD/1864;
- 7. Ambassador Hannu Himanen of Finland is appointed as Special Coordinator under agenda item 7 entitled "Transparency in armaments" according to paragraph 7 of decision CD/1864.

 \mathbf{B}

The schedule of activities will be made available by the Secretariat and will provide for one meeting per each Working Group and one meeting for the Special Coordinators.
