### CONFERENCE ON DISARMAMENT

CD/1832/Add.1 22 December 2008

Original: ENGLISH

### LETTER DATED 10 JANUARY 2008 FROM THE SECRETARY-GENERAL OF THE UNITED NATIONS ADDRESSED TO THE PRESIDENT OF THE CONFERENCE ON DISARMAMENT TRANSMITTING THE RESOLUTIONS AND DECISIONS ON DISARMAMENT AND INTERNATIONAL SECURITY MATTERS ADOPTED BY THE GENERAL ASSEMBLY AT ITS SIXTY-SECOND SESSION

### Addendum

I have the honour to transmit herewith resolutions adopted by the General Assembly at its sixty-second session, which make specific reference to the Conference on Disarmament, as well as other resolutions and decisions dealing with or related to disarmament and international security matters.

(Signed): Ban Ki-moon

GE.09-60025

### Annex

# The General Assembly also adopted three decisions on disarmament and international security issues:

- 62/512 Review of the implementation of the Declaration on the Strengthening of International Security
  62/513 United Nations conference to identify appropriate ways to ways of eliminating nuclear dangers in the context of nuclear disarmament
- 62/514 Missiles

All documents and records on disarmament and international security items were distributed during the sixty-second session of the General Assembly to all Members of the United Nations, including all members of the Conference on Disarmament.

# 62/512. Review of the implementation of the Declaration on the Strengthening of International Security

At its 61st plenary meeting, on 5 December 2007, the General Assembly, on the recommendation of the First Committee,<sup>1</sup> decided to include in the provisional agenda of its sixty-fourth session the item entitled "Review of the implementation of the Declaration on the Strengthening of International Security".

# 62/513. United Nations conference to identify appropriate ways of eliminating nuclear dangers in the context of nuclear disarmament

At its 61st plenary meeting, on 5 December 2007, the General Assembly, on the recommendation of the First Committee,<sup>2</sup> decided, by a recorded vote of 133 to 3, with 43 abstentions,<sup>3</sup> to include in the provisional agenda of its sixty-third session the item entitled "United Nations conference to identify appropriate ways of eliminating nuclear dangers in the context of nuclear disarmament".

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>1</sup> A/62/385, para. 7.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>2</sup> A/62/391, para. 78.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>3</sup> In favour: Afghanistan, Algeria, Antigua and Barbuda, Argentina, Armenia, Bahamas, Bahrain, Bangladesh, Barbados, Belarus, Belize, Benin, Bhutan, Bolivia, Botswana, Brazil, Brunei Darussalam, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Cambodia, Cameroon, Cape Verde, Central African Republic, Chile, China, Colombia, Comoros, Congo, Costa Rica, Côte d'Ivoire, Cuba, Cyprus, Democratic People's Republic of Korea, Djibouti, Dominica, Dominican Republic, Ecuador, Egypt, El Salvador, Equatorial Guinea, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Fiji, Gabon, Gambia, Ghana, Grenada, Guatemala, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Guyana, Haiti, Honduras, India, Indonesia, Iran (Islamic Republic of), Iraq, Ireland, Jamaica, Japan, Jordan, Kazakhstan, Kenya, Kuwait, Kyrgyzstan, Lao People's Democratic Republic, Lebanon, Lesotho, Liberia, Libyan Arab Jamahiriya, Madagascar, Malawi, Malaysia, Maldives, Mali, Malta, Marshall Islands, Mauritania, Mauritius, Mexico, Mongolia, Morocco, Mozambique, Myanmar, Namibia, Nepal, New Zealand, Nicaragua, Niger, Nigeria, Oman, Pakistan, Panama, Papua New Guinea, Paraguay, Peru, Philippines, Qatar, Rwanda, Saint Kitts and Nevis, Saint Lucia, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, Samoa, Sao Tome and Principe, Saudi Arabia, Senegal, Sierra Leone, Singapore, Solomon Islands, Somalia, South Africa, Sri Lanka, Sudan, Suriname, Swaziland, Sweden, Syrian Arab Republic, Tajikistan, Thailand, Togo, Tonga, Trinidad and Tobago, Tunisia, Ukraine, United Arab Emirates, United Republic of Tanzania, Uruguay, Uzbekistan, Venezuela (Bolivarian Republic of), Viet Nam, Yemen, Zambia, Zimbabwe. Against: France, United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland, United States of America. Abstaining: Albania, Andorra, Australia, Austria, Azerbaijan, Belgium, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Canada, Croatia, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, Georgia, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Israel, Italy, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Moldova, Montenegro, Netherlands, Norway, Palau, Poland, Portugal, Republic of Korea, Romania, Russian Federation, San Marino, Serbia, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Switzerland, the former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia, Turkey.

#### 62/514. Missiles

At its 61st plenary meeting, on 5 December 2007, the General Assembly, on the recommendation of the First Committee,<sup>2</sup> recalling its resolutions 54/54 F of 1 December 1999, 55/33 A of 20 November 2000, 56/24 B of 29 November 2001, 57/71 of 22 November 2002, 58/37 of 8 December 2003, 59/67 of 3 December 2004 and 61/59 of 6 December 2006 and its decision 60/515 of 8 December 2005, decided, by a recorded vote of 123 to 7, with 51 abstentions,<sup>4</sup> to include in the provisional agenda of its sixty-third session the item entitled "Missiles".

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>4</sup> In favour: Afghanistan, Algeria, Antigua and Barbuda, Argentina, Armenia, Bahamas, Bahrain, Bangladesh, Barbados, Belarus, Belize, Benin, Bhutan, Bolivia, Botswana, Brazil, Brunei Darussalam, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Cambodia, Cameroon, Cape Verde, Central African Republic, Chile, China, Colombia, Comoros, Congo, Costa Rica, Côte d'Ivoire, Cuba, Democratic People's Republic of Korea, Djibouti, Dominica, Dominican Republic, Ecuador, Egypt, El Salvador, Equatorial Guinea, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Fiji, Gabon, Gambia, Ghana, Grenada, Guatemala, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Guyana, Haiti, Honduras, India, Indonesia, Iran (Islamic Republic of), Iraq, Jamaica, Jordan, Kazakhstan, Kenya, Kuwait, Kyrgyzstan, Lao People's Democratic Republic, Lebanon, Lesotho, Libyan Arab Jamahiriya, Madagascar, Malawi, Malaysia, Maldives, Mali, Mauritania, Mauritius, Mexico, Mongolia, Morocco, Mozambique, Myanmar, Namibia, Nepal, Nicaragua, Niger, Nigeria, Oman, Pakistan, Panama, Paraguay, Peru, Philippines, Qatar, Russian Federation, Saint Kitts and Nevis, Saint Lucia, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, Sao Tome and Principe, Saudi Arabia, Senegal, Sierra Leone, Singapore, Solomon Islands, Somalia, South Africa, Sri Lanka, Sudan, Suriname, Swaziland, Syrian Arab Republic, Tajikistan, Thailand, Togo, Tonga, Trinidad and Tobago, Tunisia, Turkmenistan, United Arab Emirates, United Republic of Tanzania, Uruguay, Uzbekistan, Venezuela (Bolivarian Republic of), Viet Nam, Yemen, Zambia, Zimbabwe.

Against: Denmark, France, Israel, Netherlands, Palau, United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland, United States of America.

*Abstaining:* Albania, Andorra, Australia, Austria, Azerbaijan, Belgium, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Canada, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Estonia, Finland, Georgia, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Japan, Latvia, Liberia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Marshall Islands, Moldova, Monaco, Montenegro, New Zealand, Norway, Papua New Guinea, Poland, Portugal, Republic of Korea, Romania, Rwanda, Samoa, San Marino, Serbia, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, the former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia, Turkey, Ukraine.