CONFERENCE ON DISARMAMENT

CD/1684 3 September 2002

ENGLISH

Original: SPANISH

LETTER DATED 16 AUGUST 2002 FROM THE PERMANENT REPRESENTATIVE OF ECUADOR TO THE CONFERENCE ON DISARMAMENT ADDRESSED TO THE PRESIDENT OF THE CONFERENCE TRANSMITTING THE DECLARATION ON THE SOUTH AMERICAN ZONE OF PEACE SIGNED ON 27 JULY 2002 BY THE PRESIDENTS OF ARGENTINA, BOLIVIA, BRAZIL, CHILE, COLOMBIA, ECUADOR, PARAGUAY, PERU AND VENEZUELA AND BY THE REPRESENTATIVES OF THE HEADS OF STATE OF GUYANA, SURINAME AND URUGUAY AT THE SECOND MEETING OF PRESIDENTS OF SOUTH AMERICA, HELD IN GUATAQUIL ECUADOR

I take pleasure in transmitting to the Conference on Disarmament the Declaration on the South American Zone of Peace that was signed on 27 July 2002 by the Presidents of Argentina, Bolivia, Brazil, Chile, Colombia, Ecuador, Paraguay, Peru and Venezuela and representatives of the heads of State of Guyana, Suriname and Uruguay at the second Meeting of Presidents of South America, held in Guayaquil, Ecuador.

I should be grateful if you could arrange for the Declaration to be published as an official document of the Conference on Disarmament.

(Signed) Alfredo Pinoargote C.
Ambassador, Permanent Representative

DECLARATION ON THE SOUTH AMERICAN ZONE OF PEACE

The Presidents of the Argentine Republic, the Republic of Bolivia, the Federative Republic of Brazil, the Republic of Chile, the Republic of Colombia, the Republic of Ecuador, the Republic of Paraguay, the Republic of Peru and the Bolivarian Republic of Venezuela and the representatives of the heads of State of the Cooperative Republic of Guyana, the Republic of Suriname and the Eastern Republic of Uruguay, gathered in Guayaquil for the second Meeting of Presidents of South America on 26 and 27 July 2002,

Having in mind the surpassing importance of the historic Meeting in Guayaquil on 26 July 1822 between the Liberators, Simón Bolívar and José de San Martín, in honour of which they have gathered for this summit,

Convinced that peace, security and cooperation must be grounded in commitments which boost mutual confidence and make for the development and general well-being of their peoples and the region as a whole,

In the light of the initiatives taken by various Governments and regional groups, such as the Andean Commitment to Peace, Security and Cooperation contained in the Galápagos Declaration of December 1989, the Declaration of MERCOSUR, Bolivia and Chile as a Zone of Peace signed in Ushuaia in July 1998 and the Lima Commitment establishing the Andean Charter for Peace and Security signed on 17 June 2002,

Recalling the commitment made in the Brasilia Communiqué of 1 September 2000 to establish a South American Zone of Peace,

DECLARE:

South America a Zone of Peace and Cooperation, a historic move reflecting the best traditions of entente and peaceful coexistence among the peoples of the region;

That the threat or use of force between States in South America is banned in accordance with the relevant purposes and principles of the Charter of the United Nations and the Charter of the Organization of American States. The siting, development, manufacture, possession, deployment, testing and use of all types of weapons of mass destruction, including nuclear, chemical, biological and toxic weapons, and their transit through countries in the region are also banned in accordance with the Treaty of Tlatelolco and other international conventions on the subject. They also undertake to establish a phase-out plan which will lead in the shortest possible time to the complete eradication of anti-personnel mines as called for by the Ottawa Convention, and to follow the recommendations of the United Nations Programme of Action on Small Arms and Light Weapons;

That the Bases and Actions for the Project to Create a South American Peace and Cooperation Zone formulated at the First Meeting of Ministers for Foreign Affairs of the Andean Community-MERCOSUR and Chile, held in La Paz on 17 July 2001, constitute an appropriate set of guidelines for building the Zone of Peace on firm foundations supported by the consensus of the whole region and based, among many other measures, on the fostering of trust,

cooperation and continuous consultation in the areas of security, defence, coordinated action at the relevant international forums, transparency and gradual limitation of arms purchases under the system established by the Inter-American Convention on Transparency in Conventional Weapons Acquisitions, the United Nations Register of Conventional Arms, and other procedures established in regional and international conventions related to this important topic.

Guayaquil, 27 July 2002

Eduardo Duhalde Argentine Republic

Jorge Quiroga Republic of Bolivia

Fernando Henrique Cardoso Federative Republic of Brazil

Ricardo Lagos Republic of Chile

Andrés Pastrana Republic of Colombia

Gustavo Noboa Bejarano Republic of Ecuador

Luis Angel González Macchi Republic of Paraguay

Alejandro Toledo Republic of Peru

Hugo Chávez Frías Bolivarian Republic of Venezuela

Luis Hierro López Eastern Republic of Uruguay

Samuel R. Insanally Cooperative Republic of Guyana

Maria Elizabeth Levens Republic of Suriname
