# United Nations GENERAL ASSEMBLY

**TWENTY-FIFTH SESSION** 

**Official Records** 

#### CONTENTS

Agenda item 5: Constitution of the Main Committees and election of officers	Page
Agenda item 6:	
Election of Vice-Presidents	1

# President: Mr. Edvard HAMBRO (Norway).

### **AGENDA ITEM 5**

## Constitution of the Main Committees and election of officers

1. The PRESIDENT (interpretation from French): The following representatives have been elected Chairmen of the seven Main Committees of the General Assembly and are accordingly members of the General Committee for the twenty-fifth session:

First Committee: Mr. Andrés Aguilar Μ. (Venezuela):

Special Political Committee: Mr. Abdul Samad Ghaus (Afghanistan);

Second Committee: Mr. Walter Guevara Arze (Bolivia):

Third Committee: Miss Maria Groza (Romania);

Fourth Committee: Mr. Vernon Johnson Mwaanga (Zambia):

Fifth Committee: Mr. Max Wershop (Canada);

Sixth Committee: Mr. Paul Bamela Engo (Cameroon).

# **AGENDA ITEM 6 Election of Vice-Presidents**

2. The PRESIDENT (interpretation from French): Pursuant to rule 31 of the rules of procedure, we shall now proceed to the election of seventeen Vice-Presidents of the General Assembly, who are to be chosen in such a manner as to ensure the representative character of the General Committee. All Member States are eligible for election as Vice-Presidents except for those whose representatives have already been elected to the presidency of the General Assembly or to the chairmanship of one of the Main Committees.

3. In accordance with a previous decision of the Assembly, set forth in foot-note 4 to rule 31, the Vice-Presidents are to be elected according to the following group pattern:

· Wednesday, 16 September 1970, at 10.30 a.m.

PLENARY MEETING

(a) Seven representatives from African and Asian States:

(b) One representative from an Eastern European State;

(c) Three representatives from Latin American States:

(d) Two representatives from Western European and other States. However, as a representative of a Western European State has been elected to the presidency of the General Assembly, only one State remains to be elected from this group (as provided in paragraph 3 of foot-note 4 to rule 31);

(e) Five representatives from the permanent members of the Security Council.

4. Five ballot papers, one for each of these five groups A, B, C, D and E, are now being distributed. They indicate the number of States to be elected in each group, except that under Group D, where only one State remains to be elected, the second line has been crossed out.

5. Will representatives please write on each ballot paper the names of the Member States-not the names of the representatives-for which they wish to vote in that group. Any ballot paper containing more names than assigned to that group will be declared invalid. Those Members receiving a majority of the votes cast will be declared elected. We shall now proceed to the vote.

6. I call on the representative of Syria on a point of order.

7. Mr. JOUEJATI (Syria): I am sorry to interrupt the voting. However, many representatives do not know the names of the candidates for Asia, because we distributed the list only yesterday. On behalf of the Asian Group, therefore, I should like to inform the Assembly that the candidates for Asia are the Philippines, Iraq and Nepal.

8. The PRESIDENT (interpretation from French): Perhaps, after that clarification, we may start the voting.

At the invitation of the President, Mr. Messía (Spain, Mr. Román (Nicaragua), Mr. Zádor (Hungary), Mr. Nimon (Togo) and Mr. Pishva (Iran) acted as tellers.

A vote was taken by secret ballot.

9. The PRESIDENT (interpretation from French): Since analysing the ballots will take some time, I propose that we suspend the meeting while the tellers count

Page

the votes. If there are no objections, we shall reconvene at 12.20 p.m. to announce the results of the voting.

The meeting was suspended at 11.5 a.m. and resumed at 12.20 p.m.

10. The PRESIDENT (*interpretation from French*): The results of the election of the Vice-Presidents of the General Assembly are as follows:

Group A: African and Asian States

Number of ballot papers:	109
Invalid ballots:	0
Valid ballots:	109
Abstentions:	3
Number of members voting:	106
Required majority:	54

Number of votes obtained:

Chad 104	4
Kenya 10	3
Mauritius	1
Senegal 10	1
Nepal	5
Philippines	2
Iraq 9	1
Iran	1
Zambia	1

#### Group B: Eastern European States

Number of ballot papers:	107
Invalid ballots:	4
Valid ballots:	103
Abstentions:	7
Number of members voting:	96
Required majority:	49

#### Number of votes obtained:

Ukrainian	Soviet	Socialist	Republic	95
Albania			•••••	1

# Group C: Latin American States

108
0
108
3
105
53

Number of votes obtained:

Brazil		•										•			•	•				•				 •	104	
Jamaica																										
Ecuador		•	•	•	•	•	•		•	•	•	•	•	•	•	•	•	•	•	•	•	•	•	 •	102	

Group D: Western European and other States

Number of ballot papers:	108
Invalid ballots:	2
Valid ballots:	106
Abstentions:	7
Number of members voting:	99
Required majority:	50
Number of votes obtained:	

Malta	97
Canada	2

Group E: Permanent members of the Security Council

Number of ballot papers:	106
Invalid ballots:	1
Valid ballots:	105
Abstentions:	7
Number of members voting:	98
Required majority:	50

Number of votes obtained:

United States of America	
France	95
United Kingdom of Great Britain and	
Northern Ireland	95
Union of Soviet Socialist Republics	95
China	95

The representatives of the following Member States having obtained the required majority, were elected Vice-Presidents: Brazil, Chad, China, Ecuador, France, Iraq, Jamaica, Kenya, Malta, Mauritius, Nepal, Philippines, Senegal, Ukrainian Soviet Socialist Republic, Union of Soviet Socialist Republics, United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland, United States of America.

11. The PRESIDENT (*interpretation from French*): I should like to thank the tellers for their assistance in this election, and I wish to congratulate all those who have been elected. The General Committee for the twenty-fifth session is now officially constituted.

The meeting rose at 12.25 p.m.