

Distr.: General 22 May 2023

Original: English

Seventy-eighth session Item 118 (f) of the preliminary list\* Appointments to fill vacancies in subsidiary organs and other appointments

## Appointment of members of the Committee on Conferences

## Note by the Secretary-General

1. By its resolution 43/222 B, the General Assembly decided that the Committee on Conferences should be composed of 21 members to be appointed by the President of the Assembly, after consultations with the Chairs of the regional groups, for a period of three years, on the basis of the following geographical distribution:

- (a) Six members from African States;
- (b) Five members from Asia-Pacific States;
- (c) Four members from Latin American and Caribbean States;
- (d) Two members from Eastern European States;
- (e) Four members from Western European and other States.

The Assembly further decided that one third of the Committee's membership should retire annually and that retiring members would be eligible for reappointment.

2. The present membership of the Committee on Conferences is as follows:

Austria\*\*\* China\*\*\* Côte d'Ivoire\*\* Djibouti\*\*\* Egypt\*\*\* France\* Iran (Islamic Republic of)\*\* Japan\*\*\* Kenya\* Malaysia\* Nigeria\* Poland\*\* Portugal\*\*

\* A/78/50.





Russian Federation\* Senegal\*\* Sri Lanka\* United States of America\*\*\*

- \* Term of office expires on 31 December 2023.
- \*\* Term of office expires on 31 December 2024.
- \*\*\* Term of office expires on 31 December 2025.

3. The terms of office of the representatives of France, Kenya, Malaysia, Nigeria, the Russian Federation and Sri Lanka will expire on 31 December 2023.

4. Four vacancies for members from Latin American and Caribbean States remain to be filled: one for a term of office expiring on 31 December 2023, two for a term of office expiring on 31 December 2024 and one for a term of office expiring on 31 December 2025.

5. It will be necessary for the President of the General Assembly at its seventyeighth session to appoint members to fill the resulting vacancies. The members so appointed will serve for a period of three years, beginning on 1 January 2024.