United Nations A/78/558



Distr.: General 3 November 2023

Original: English

Seventy-eighth session

Agenda item 115 (a)

Appointments to fill vacancies in subsidiary organs and other appointments: appointment of members of the Advisory Committee on Administrative and Budgetary Questions

Report of the Fifth Committee

Rapporteur: Mr. Laurens Thomas den Hartog (Kingdom of the Netherlands)

- 1. At its 2nd plenary meeting, on 8 September 2023, the General Assembly, on the recommendation of the General Committee, decided to include in the agenda of its seventy-eighth session the item entitled "Appointments to fill vacancies in subsidiary organs and other appointments: appointment of members of the Advisory Committee on Administrative and Budgetary Questions" and to allocate it to the Fifth Committee.
- 2. At its 8th meeting, on 3 November 2023, the Fifth Committee had before it the following documents:
- (a) Note by the Secretary-General concerning the vacancies in the membership of the Advisory Committee on Administrative and Budgetary Questions that would occur as a result of the expiration of the term of office of 10 of its members on 31 December 2023 (A/78/101/Rev.1);
- (b) Note by the Secretary-General containing the names of 12 persons nominated by their respective Governments for appointment or reappointment to the Advisory Committee on Administrative and Budgetary Questions for a three-year term of office beginning on 1 January 2024 (A/C.5/78/6).
- 3. At the same meeting, the Committee decided, by acclamation, to recommend to the General Assembly that it appoint or reappoint Surendra Kumar Adhana (India), Abdallah Bachar Bong (Chad), Feliksas Bakanauskas (Lithuania), Ali Ben Said (Tunisia), Simon Horner (United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland), Evgeny Kalugin (Russian Federation), Caroline Nalwanga (Uganda) and Stephani Laura Scheer (United States) as members of the Advisory Committee on Administrative and Budgetary Questions for a three-year term of office beginning on 1 January 2024 (see para. 6).





4. Also at the same meeting, the Committee proceeded to select, by secret ballot, two persons from the four candidates nominated by their respective Governments from the Latin American and Caribbean States. The result of the voting was as follows:

Number of ballots cast:	190
Invalid ballots:	1
Number of valid ballots:	189
Abstentions:	0
Number of members present and voting:	189
Required majority:	95
Number of votes obtained:	
Julia Maciel (Paraguay)	106
Juliana Gaspar Ruas (Brazil)	100
Jorge Flores Callejas (Honduras)	96
Henry-Claude Fleury (Haiti)	67

5. Having obtained the required majority, Julia Maciel (Paraguay) and Juliana Gaspar Ruas (Brazil) were recommended to the General Assembly for reappointment as members of the Committee for a three-year term of office beginning on 1 January 2024 (see para. 6).

Recommendation of the Fifth Committee

6. The Fifth Committee recommends that the General Assembly appoint or reappoint the following persons as members of the Advisory Committee on Administrative and Budgetary Questions for a three-year term of office beginning on 1 January 2024:

Surendra Kumar Adhana (India)

Abdallah Bachar Bong (Chad)

Feliksas Bakanauskas (Lithuania)

Ali Ben Said (Tunisia)

Simon Horner (United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland)

Evgeny Kalugin (Russian Federation)

Julia Maciel (Paraguay)

Caroline Nalwanga (Uganda)

Juliana Gaspar Ruas (Brazil)

Stephani Laura Scheer (United States)

2/2 23-21343