

Distr.: General 1 November 2019

Original: English

Seventy-fourth session Agenda item 115 (b)

Appointments to fill vacancies in subsidiary organs and other appointments: appointment of members of the Committee on Contributions

Report of the Fifth Committee

Rapporteur: Mr. Yaron Wax (Israel)

1. At its 2nd plenary meeting, on 20 September 2019, the General Assembly, on the recommendation of the General Committee, decided to include in the agenda of its seventy-fourth session the item entitled "Appointments to fill vacancies in subsidiary organs and other appointments: appointment of members of the Committee on Contributions" and to allocate it to the Fifth Committee.

2. At its 8th meeting, on 1 November 2019, the Fifth Committee had before it the following documents:

(a) Note by the Secretary-General concerning the vacancies in the membership of the Committee on Contributions that would occur as a result of the expiration of the term of office of six of its members on 31 December 2019 (A/74/102/Rev.1);

(b) Note by the Secretary-General containing the names of five persons nominated by their respective Governments for appointment or reappointment to the Committee on Contributions for a three-year term of office beginning on 1 January 2020 (A/C.5/74/5).

3. At the same meeting, the Committee decided, by acclamation, to recommend to the General Assembly that it appoint or reappoint Cheikh Tidiane Dème (Senegal), Gordon Eckersley (Australia), Bernardo Greiver del Hoyo (Uruguay), Ugo Sessi (Italy) and Alejandro Torres Lépori (Argentina) as members of the Committee on Contributions for a three-year term of office beginning on 1 January 2020 (see para. 4). The appointment for the remaining vacancy beginning on 1 January 2020 was postponed to a later date.





Recommendation of the Fifth Committee

4. The Fifth Committee recommends that the General Assembly appoint the following persons as members of the Committee on Contributions for a three-year term of office beginning on 1 January 2020:

Cheikh Tidiane Dème (Senegal) Gordon Eckersley (Australia) Bernardo Greiver del Hoyo (Uruguay) Ugo Sessi (Italy) Alejandro Torres Lépori (Argentina).