

Distr.: General 28 November 2018

Original: English

Seventy-third session Agenda item 3 (b) Credentials of representatives to the seventy-third session of the General Assembly

Report of the Credentials Committee

Chair: Ms. Ngedikes Olai Uludong (Palau)

1. At its 1st plenary meeting, on 18 September 2018, the General Assembly, in accordance with rule 28 of its rules of procedure, appointed a Credentials Committee for its seventy-third session consisting of the following Member States: Antigua and Barbuda, Chile, China, Finland, Ghana, Palau, Russian Federation, Sierra Leone and United States of America.

2. The Credentials Committee held one meeting, on 28 November 2018.

3. The Permanent Representative of Palau to the United Nations, Ngedikes Olai Uludong, was unanimously elected Chair.

4. The Committee had before it a memorandum by the Secretary-General dated 27 November 2018 concerning the credentials of representatives of Member States to the seventy-third session of the General Assembly.

5. As noted in paragraph 1 of the memorandum by the Secretary-General, formal credentials issued by the Head of State or Government or by the Minister for Foreign Affairs as required by rule 27 of the rules of procedure of the General Assembly had been submitted by the following 126 Member States in respect of their representatives to the seventy-third session of the Assembly: Albania, Andorra, Antigua and Barbuda, Argentina, Australia, Austria, Azerbaijan, Bahamas, Bahrain, Barbados, Belarus, Belgium, Belize, Bhutan, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Botswana, Brazil, Brunei Darussalam, Bulgaria, Burundi, Cabo Verde, Cambodia, Cameroon, Central African Republic, Chile, China, Congo, Costa Rica, Croatia, Cuba, Cyprus, Czechia, Democratic People's Republic of Korea, Denmark, Dominica, Ecuador, El Salvador, Estonia, Eswatini, Fiji, Finland, Gambia, Germany, Ghana, Guatemala, Guyana, Honduras, Hungary, Iceland, India, Indonesia, Iran (Islamic Republic of), Israel, Italy, Jamaica, Japan, Jordan, Kazakhstan, Kuwait, Lao People's Democratic Republic, Latvia, Lebanon, Liberia, Libya, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malawi, Malaysia, Mali, Malta, Marshall Islands, Mauritania, Mauritius, Mexico, Monaco, Mongolia, Montenegro, Morocco, Mozambique, Myanmar, Namibia, Netherlands, New Zealand, Nigeria, Norway, Pakistan, Panama, Paraguay, Peru, Philippines, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Russian Federation, Saint Lucia, Saint Vincent and the





Grenadines, Samoa, San Marino, Sao Tome and Principe, Senegal, Singapore, Slovakia, Slovenia, Solomon Islands, Spain, Sudan, Suriname, Sweden, Switzerland, Syrian Arab Republic, Thailand, Timor-Leste, Togo, Tonga, Trinidad and Tobago, Tunisia, Uganda, Ukraine, United Arab Emirates, United States of America, Uruguay, Venezuela (Bolivarian Republic of), Yemen, Zimbabwe and Zambia.

6. As indicated in paragraph 2 of the memorandum, information concerning the appointment of representatives of Member States to the seventy-third session of the General Assembly had been communicated to the Secretary-General by means of a facsimile communication from the Head of State or Government or the Minister for Foreign Affairs, or by means of a letter or note verbale from the Permanent Mission concerned, by the following 67 Member States: Afghanistan, Algeria, Angola, Armenia, Bangladesh, Benin, Bolivia (Plurinational State of), Burkina Faso, Canada, Chad, Colombia, Comoros, Côte d'Ivoire, Democratic Republic of the Congo, Djibouti, Dominican Republic, Egypt, Equatorial Guinea, Eritrea, Ethiopia, France, Gabon, Georgia, Greece, Grenada, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Haiti, Iraq, Ireland, Kenya, Kiribati, Kyrgyzstan, Lesotho, Madagascar, Maldives, Micronesia (Federated States of), Nauru, Nepal, Nicaragua, Niger, Oman, Palau, Papua New Guinea, Qatar, Republic of Korea, Republic of Moldova, Rwanda, Saint Kitts and Nevis, Saudi Arabia, Serbia, Seychelles, Sierra Leone, Somalia, South Africa, South Sudan, Sri Lanka, Tajikistan, the former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia, Turkey, Turkmenistan, Tuvalu, United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland, United Republic of Tanzania, Uzbekistan, Vanuatu and Viet Nam.

7. The Chair recommended that the Committee accept the credentials of the representatives of all the Member States mentioned in the memorandum, on the understanding that formal credentials of the representatives of the Member States referred to in paragraph 6 of the present report would be communicated to the Secretary-General as soon as possible.

8. The Chair proposed the following draft resolution for adoption by the Committee:

The Credentials Committee,

Having examined the credentials of the representatives to the seventy-third session of the General Assembly,

Accepts the credentials of the representatives of the Member States referred to in paragraphs 1 and 2 of the memorandum of the Secretary-General.

9. The draft resolution proposed by the Chair was adopted without a vote.

10. The Chair then proposed that the Committee recommend to the General Assembly the adoption of a draft resolution entitled "Credentials of representatives to the seventy-third session of the General Assembly" (see para. 12). The proposal was adopted without a vote.

11. In the light of the foregoing, the present report is submitted to the General Assembly.

Recommendation of the Credentials Committee

12. The Credentials Committee recommends to the General Assembly the adoption of the following draft resolution:

Credentials of representatives to the seventy-third session of the General Assembly

The General Assembly,

Having considered the report of the Credentials Committee 1 and the recommendation contained therein,

Approves the report of the Credentials Committee.¹

¹ A/73/600.