

Distr.: General 22 August 2014

Original: English

Sixty-ninth session Item 97 (p) of the provisional agenda* General and complete disarmament

The Arms Trade Treaty

Report of the Secretary-General

1. In paragraph 5 of its resolution 68/31, entitled "The Arms Trade Treaty", the General Assembly requested the Secretary-General to report to the Assembly at its sixty-ninth session on the status of signature and ratification of the Treaty. The present report is issued pursuant to that request.

2. As at 22 July 2014, 118 States had signed the Treaty, with 41 of those having also deposited their instruments of ratification. Also, in accordance with article 23 of the Treaty, 19 of the signatory States declared that they would provisionally apply articles 6 and 7 of the Treaty, pending its entry into force. The list of the 118 signatories and ratifying States is set out below.

Participant	Signature	Provisional application under article 23	Approval, Acceptance, Ratification
Albania	3 June 2013		19 March 2014
Angola	25 September 2013		
Antigua and Barbuda	3 June 2013	12 August 2013	12 August 2013
Argentina	3 June 2013		
Australia	3 June 2013		3 June 2014
Austria	3 June 2013	3 June 2014	3 June 2014
Bahamas	3 June 2013		
Bahrain	21 November 2013		
Bangladesh	26 September 2013		





Participant	Signature	Provisional application under article 23	Approval, Acceptance, Ratification
Barbados	25 September 2013		
Belgium ^a	3 June 2013		3 June 2014
Belize	3 June 2013		
Benin	3 June 2013		
Bosnia and Herzegovina	25 September 2013		
Brazil	3 June 2013		
Bulgaria	2 July 2013		2 April 2014
Burkina Faso	3 June 2013		3 June 2014
Burundi	3 June 2013		
Cabo Verde	25 September 2013		
Cambodia	18 October 2013		
Chad	25 September 2013		
Chile	3 June 2013		
Colombia	24 September 2013		
Comoros	26 September 2013		
Congo	25 September 2013		
Costa Rica	3 June 2013	25 September 2013	25 September 2013
Côte d'Ivoire	3 June 2013		
Croatia	3 June 2013		2 April 2014
Cyprus	3 June 2013		
Czech Republic	3 June 2013		
Denmark ^b	3 June 2013	2 April 2014	2 April 2014
Djibouti	3 June 2013		
Dominica	1 October 2013		
Dominican Republic	3 June 2013		7 August 2014
El Salvador	5 June 2013		2 April 2014
Estonia	3 June 2013	2 April 2014	2 April 2014
Finland	3 June 2013	2 April 2014	2 April 2014
France	3 June 2013		2 April 2014

Participant	Signature	Provisional application under article 23	Approval, Acceptance, Ratification
Gabon	25 September 2013		
Germany	3 June 2013	2 April 2014	2 April 2014
Ghana	24 September 2013		
Greece	3 June 2013		
Grenada	3 June 2013		21 October 2013
Guatemala	24 June 2013		
Guinea	29 July 2013		
Guinea-Bissau	26 September 2013		
Guyana	3 June 2013		4 July 2013
Haiti	21 March 2014		
Honduras	25 September 2013		
Hungary	3 June 2013	2 April 2014	2 April 2014
Iceland	3 June 2013	2 July 2013	2 July 2013
Ireland	3 June 2013		2 April 2014
Italy	3 June 2013		2 April 2014
Jamaica	3 June 2013		3 June 2014
Japan	3 June 2013		9 May 2014
Kiribati	25 September 2013		
Latvia	3 June 2013	2 April 2014	2 April 2014
Lesotho	25 September 2013		
Liberia	4 June 2013		
Libya	9 July 2013		
Liechtenstein	3 June 2013		
Lithuania	3 June 2013		
Luxembourg	3 June 2013		3 June 2014
Madagascar	25 September 2013		
Malawi	9 January 2014		
Malaysia	26 September 2013		
Mali	3 June 2013		3 December 2013

Participant	Signature	Provisional application under article 23	Approval, Acceptance, Ratification
Malta	3 June 2013		2 April 2014
Mauritania	3 June 2013		
Mexico	3 June 2013	25 September 2013	25 September 2013
Mongolia	24 September 2013		
Montenegro	3 June 2013		18 August 2014
Mozambique	3 June 2013		
Nauru	25 September 2013		
Netherlands	3 June 2013		
New Zealand	3 June 2013		
Niger	24 March 2014		
Nigeria	12 August 2013		12 August 2013
Norway	3 June 2013	12 February 2014	12 February 2014
Palau	3 June 2013		
Panama	3 June 2013		11 February 2014
Paraguay	19 June 2013		
Peru	24 September 2013		
Philippines	25 September 2013		
Poland	1 July 2013		
Portugal	3 June 2013		
Republic of Korea	3 June 2013		
Republic of Moldova	10 September 2013		
Romania	3 June 2013		2 April 2014
Rwanda	5 June 2013		
Samoa	25 September 2013		3 June 2014
Senegal	3 June 2013		
Serbia	12 August 2013	12 August 2013	
Seychelles	3 June 2013		
Sierra Leone	25 September 2013		12 August 2014
Slovakia	10 June 2013	2 April 2014	2 April 2014

Participant	Signature	Provisional application under article 23	Approval, Acceptance, Ratification
Slovenia	3 June 2013		2 April 2014
South Africa	25 September 2013		I -
Spain	3 June 2013	3 June 2013	2 April 2014
Saint Kitts and Nevis	5 June 2013		I
Saint Lucia	3 June 2013		
Saint Vincent and the Grenadines	3 June 2013	3 June 2014	3 June 2014
Suriname	3 June 2013		
Swaziland	4 September 2013		
Sweden	3 June 2013	16 June 2014	16 June 2014
Switzerland	3 June 2013		
The former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia	25 September 2013		6 March 2014
Togo	3 June 2013		
Trinidad and Tobago	3 June 2013	25 September 2013	25 September 2013
Turkey	2 July 2013		
Tuvalu	3 June 2013		
United Arab Emirates	9 July 2013		
United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland	3 June 2013	2 April 2014	2 April 2014
United Republic of Tanzania	3 June 2013		
United States of America	25 September 2013		
Uruguay	3 June 2013		
Vanuatu	26 July 2013		
Zambia	25 September 2013		

 ^a This signature also applies to the Walloon Region, the Flemish Region and the Brussels-Capital Region.
^b Upon its approval of the Treaty, the Government of Denmark notified the Secretary-General that the Treaty shall not apply to the Faroe Islands and Greenland until further notice.