UNIT&D NATIONS





## **General Assembly**

Distr. GENERAL

A/43/565/Add.1 20 October 1988

ORIGINAL: ENGLISH

Forty-third session Agenda item 70

## QUESTION OF ANTARCTICA

## Report of the Secretary-General

## Addendum

Owing to the recent changes in the membership of the Antarctic Treaty and in the Antarctic Treaty Consultative Meetings, there follows a current listing in this regard:

The States parties to the Antarctic Treaty are the following (underlining indicates consultative status): Argentina, Australia, Austria, Belgium, Brazil, Bulgaria, Canada\*, Chile, China, Cuba, Czechoslovakia, Democratic People's Republic of Korea, Denmark, Ecuador, Finland, France, German Democratic Republic, Germany, Federal Republic of, Greece, Hungary, India, Italy, Japan, Netherlands, New Zealand, Norway, Papua New Guinea, Peru, Poland, Republic of Korea, Romania, South Africa, Spain\*\*, Sweden\*\*, Union of Soviet Socialist Republics, United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland, United States of America and Uruquay.

88-25953 06756 (E)

<sup>\*</sup> Canada acceded to the Treaty in May 1968,

<sup>\*\*</sup> Spain and Sweden became Consultative Parties in September 1988.