

## **General Assembly**

**Distr.** GENERAL

A/41/907 6 May 1987

ORIGINAL: ENGLISH

Forty-first session Agenda item 63

## IMPLEMENTATION OF THE DECLARATION OF THE INDIAN OCEAN AS A ZONE OF PEACE

## Appointment of a member of the Ad Hoc Committee on the Indian Ocean

## Note by the Secretary-General

1. In paragraph 1 of resolution 34/80 B of 11 December 1979, the General Aesembly docided to enlarge the Ad Hoc Committee on the Indian Ocean by the addition of new numbers to be appointed by the President of the Assembly on the recommendation of the Committee.

2. BY a communication dated 6 May 1987, the President of the General Aesenbly informed the Secretary-General that, on the basis of the recommendation made by the <u>Ad Hoc</u> Committee at its 312th meeting, on 2 April 1967, and in accordance with the established practice, he had appointed Zinbabwe as an additional member of the Committee.

3. As a result of the above appointment, the <u>Ad Ho</u>c Conmittee on the Indian Ocean is composed of the following 49 Member States:

Australia	Germany, Federal Republic of
Bangladesh	Greece
Bulgaria	India
Canada	Indonesia
China	Iran (Islamic <b>Republic of)</b>
Democratic Yemen	Iraq
Djibouti	Italy
Egypt	Japan
Ethiopia	Kenya
France	Liberia
Gernan Democratic Republic	Madagascar

A/41/907 Englieh **Page** 2

> Malaysia Malaysia Mauritius Mozambique Netherlands Norway Oman Pakistan Panama Poland Romania Seychelles Singapor e Somalia

Sri Lanka Sudan Thailand Uganda Union of Soviet Socialist Republics united **Arab Emirates** United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland United Republic of Tanzania United **States** of **America** Yemen Yugoelavia **Zambia Z** imbabwe

-----