

UNITED NATIONS

GENERAL ASSEMBLY



Distr.
GENERAL

ORIGINAL: ENGLISH

Thirty-fourth session Agenda item 39

Australia

IMPLEMENTATION OF THE DECLARATION OF THE INDIAN OCEAN AS A ZONE OF PEACE

Appointment of members of the Ad Hoc Committee on the Indian Ocean

Note by the Secretary-General

- 1. In paragraph 1 of resolution 34/80 B of 11 December 1979, the General Assembly decided to enlarge the Ad Hoc Committee on the Indian Ocean by the addition of new members to be appointed by the President of the Assembly on the recommendation of the Ad Hoc Committee.
- 2. By a communication dated 10 June 1980, the President of the General Assembly informed the Secretary-General that, on the basis of the recommendation made by the Ad Hoc Committee at its 93rd meeting, on 9 June 1980, he had appointed the following States as additional members of the Committee: Bulgaria, Djibouti, Egypt, German Democratic Republic, Panama, Poland, Romania, Seychelles, Singapore, Sudan and Yugoslavia.
- 3. As a result of the above appointments, the Ad Hoc Committee on the Indian Ocean is composed of the following 44 Member States:

Bangladesh
Bulgaria
Canada
China
Democratic Yemen
Djibouti
Egypt
Ethiopia
France
German Democratic Republic
Germany, Federal Republic of
Greece
India

Indonesia
Iran
Iraq
Italy
Japan
Kenya
Liberia
Madagascar
Malaysia
Mauritius
Mozambique
Netherlands
Norway
Oman

A/34/854 English Page 2

Pakistan
Panama
Poland
Romania
Seychelles
Singapore
Somalia
Sri Lanka
Sudan

Union of Soviet Socialist
Republics
United Kingdom of Great Britain
and Northern Ireland
United Republic of Tanzania
United States of America
Yemen
Yugoslavia
Zambia