

Distr.: General 31 July 2023

Original: English

Seventy-eighth session Item 118 (a) of the preliminary list\* Appointments to fill vacancies in subsidiary organs and other appointments

## Appointment of members of the Advisory Committee on Administrative and Budgetary Questions

## Note by the Secretary-General

1. Rules 155 and 156 of the rules of procedure of the General Assembly provide as follows:

## Rule 155

The General Assembly shall appoint an Advisory Committee on Administrative and Budgetary Questions consisting of twenty-one members, including at least three financial experts of recognized standing.

## Rule 156

The members of the Advisory Committee on Administrative and Budgetary Questions, no two of whom shall be nationals of the same State, shall be selected on the basis of broad geographical representation, personal qualifications and experience and shall serve for a period of three years corresponding to three calendar years. Members shall retire by rotation and shall be eligible for reappointment. The three financial experts shall not retire simultaneously. The General Assembly shall appoint the members of the Advisory Committee at the regular session immediately preceding the expiration of the term of office of the members or, in case of vacancies, at the next session.

2. The current membership of the Advisory Committee is as follows:

Surendra Kumar Adhana (India)\* Yves Éric Ahoussougbemey (Benin)\*\* Amjad Qaid Al Kumaim (Yemen)\*\* Makiese Kinkela Augusto (Angola)\*\* Abdallah Bachar Bong (Chad)\* Feliksas Bakanauskas (Lithuania)\* Sharon Brennen-Haylock (Bahamas)\*\*

\* A/78/50.





Jakub Chmielewski (Poland)\*\* Udo Klaus Fenchel (Germany)\*\*\* Olivio Fermín (Dominican Republic)\*\*\* Carlo Jacobucci (Italy)\*\*\* Ji Haojun (China)\*\*\* Nabil Kalkoul (Algeria)\* Evgeny Kalugin (Russian Federation)\* Julia A. Maciel (Paraguay)\* Matsuda Yukiko (Japan)\*\*\* Caroline Nalwanga (Uganda)\* Juliana Gaspar Ruas (Brazil)\* Stephani Scheer (United States of America)\* Cihan Terzi (Turkey)\* Minhong Yi (Republic of Korea)\*\*\*

3. Given that the terms of office of Mr. Adhana, Mr. Bachar Bong, Mr. Bakanauskas, Mr. Kalkoul, Mr. Kalugin, Ms. Maciel, Ms. Nalwanga, Ms. Ruas, Ms. Scheer and Mr. Terzi will expire on 31 December 2023, it will be necessary for the General Assembly, at its seventy-eighth session, to appoint 10 persons to fill the resulting vacancies. The persons so appointed will serve for a period of three years, beginning on 1 January 2024.

4. The General Assembly, by its resolution 74/267, decided that seats should be distributed as follows among regional groups: African States, five; Asian and Pacific States, five; Eastern European States, three; Latin American and Caribbean States, four; and Western European and other States, four.

5. At previous sessions, the Fifth Committee submitted to the General Assembly a draft decision containing the names of the persons recommended for appointment. It is suggested that a similar procedure be followed at the seventy-eighth session.

<sup>\*</sup> Term of office expires on 31 December 2023.

<sup>\*\*</sup> Term of office expires on 31 December 2024.

<sup>\*\*\*</sup> Term of office expires on 31 December 2025.