

Distr. GENERAL

E/CN.6/2001/INF.1 22 June 2001

ENGLISH/FRENCH/SPANISH

Commission on Science and Technology for Development Fifth session Geneva, 28 May-1 June 2001

LIST OF PARTICIPANTS

Note: The format and data of the entries in this list are as provided to the secretariat.

GE.01-51852

MEMBERS

ALGERIA

Mr. Abdelhakim BENNEKAA, Director, Ministry of Industry

Mr. Nor-Eddine BENFREHA, Counsellor, Permanent Mission, Geneva

ANGOLA

H.E. Mr. Pedro S. TETA, Vice-Minister, Ministry of Science and Technology H.E. Mr. João Filipe MARTINS, Ambassador, Permanent Representative, Geneva Mr. Rolando Felicidades de Jesus NETO, Counsellor, Permanent Mission,

Mr. Rolando Felicidades de Jesus NETO, Counsellor, Permanent Mission Geneva

Mr. Justino Manuel VANDA, Director, Vice Minister Bureau, Ministry of Science and Technology

AUSTRIA

Mr. Bernd Michael RODE, Professor, Ministry of Education, Science and Culture, University of Innsbruck

Mr. Peter STORER, Counsellor, Permanent Mission, Geneva

BELARUS

Mr. Syergei KATSKO, Adviser, Department of Ecological Scientific and Technical Cooperation Department, Ministry of Foreign Affairs

BELGIUM

Mr. Joseph Noel TABURY, Deputy Counsellor, Ministry of Foreign Affairs Ms. Veronique DETHIER, Expert, Permanent Mission, Geneva

BOLIVIA

Mr. Antonio SAAVEDRA MUNOZ, Ministry of External Relations and Culture

BRAZIL

Ms. Marilia SARDENBERG Z. GONCALVEZ, Director-General, Department for Scientific and Technological Cooperation, Ministry of Foreign Affairs Mr. Felipe C. SANTAROSA, Second Secretary, Permanent Mission, Geneva

CHINA

Mr. JIN Ju, Deputy Director-General, Department of International Cooperation, Ministry of Science and Technology

Mr. LUO Delong, Senior Advisor, Department of International Cooperation, Ministry of Science and Technology

Mrs. HAN Li, First Secretary, Permanent Mission, Geneva

COLOMBIA

Mr. José Luis VILLAVECES CARDOSO, Deputy Director, COLCIENCIAS Mr. Miguel Camilo RUIZ BLANCO, Minister Counsellor, Permanent Mission, Geneva

ETHIOPIA

Ms. Woinshet TADESSE, First Secretary, Permanent Mission, Geneva

GERMANY

Mr. Andreas STAMM, German Development Institute (GDI) Ms. Anja KOENIG, Junior Lawyer (Intern), Permanent Mission, Geneva

GHANA

Mr. Joseph R. COBBINAH, Director, Forestry Research Institute of Ghana

GREECE

Mrs. Lena TSIPOURI, Assistant Professor, Center of Financial Studies, University of Athens
Mr. Angelos YPSILANTIS, First Secretary, Permanent Mission, Geneva

INDONESIA

Mr. Ir. Agus HARTANTO, Deputy Minister, Ministry of Research and Technology, Jakarta Mr. Iwan S. AMRI, First Secretary, Permanent Mission, Geneva

IRAN (ISLAMIC REPUBLIC OF)

Mr. Hossein Salar AMOLI, Deputy President, Head of Scientific Cooperation Division, Iranian Research Organization for Science and Technology H.E. Mr. Ali A. Mojtahed SHABESTAIR, Ambassador Deputy Permanent Representative, Permanent Mission, Geneva

PAKISTAN

Mr. Tariq-ur RAHMAN, Joint Scientific Adviser, Ministry of Science and Technology

Mr. Farrukh Igbal KHAN, Second Secretary, Permanent Mission, Geneva

PARAGUAY

Mr. Sergio G. VON HOROCH, Executive Secretary, Paraguayan National Council of Science and Technology (CONACYT)

PORTUGAL

Mr. Armando TRIGO DE ABREU, President/Chairman, Institute of International Scientific and Technological Cooperation, Ministry of Science and Technology Ms. Sonia MELO E. CASTRO, First Secretary, Permanent Mission, Geneva

ROMANIA

Ms. Rolanda PREDESCU, Deputy Director-General, Division of RTD Policies and Strategy, Ministry of Education and Research

RUSSIAN FEDERATION

Mr. Alexander NOVIKOV, Deputy Head, Department of Earth Sciences, Ministry of Industry, Science and Technology Mr. Oleg RUDENSKIY, Chief of Office, Department of International Cooperation, Ministry of Industry, Science and Technology

SLOVAKIA

Mr. Štefan MORAVEK, Director, International Organizations Department, Ministry of Foreign Affairs

SPAIN

Mr. Jesús MARTINEZ FRIAS, Consejero Superior de Investigaciones Cientificas, Museo Nacional de Ciencias Naturales Mr. Antonio Luis BULLON CAMARASA, Deputy Permanent Representative, Permanent Mission, Geneva Mr. Joaquim BELLMUNT, Counsellor, Permanent Mission, Geneva

SRI LANKA

Mr. Vijaya KUMAR, Senior Professor and Head of the Chemistry Department, University of Peradeniya Ms. Gothami INDIKADAHENA, Counsellor (Economic and Commercial Affairs), Permanent Mission, Geneva

TUNISIA

S.E. M. Hatem BEN SALEM, Ambassadeur, Représentant Permanent, Genève Mr. Ali ABAAB, Deputy Director, In charge of Evaluation, State Secretariat for Scientific Research and Technology Mlle Samia Ilhem AMMAR, Conseiller des Affaires Etrangères, Mission Permanente, Genève

UGANDA

Mr. Nabhan NDOBOLI, First Secretary, Permanent Mission, Geneva

UNITED KINGDOM OF GREAT BRITAIN AND NORTHERN IRELAND

Mrs. Eleanor M. FULLER, First Secretary, Permanent Mission, Geneva

OBSERVERS

ARGENTINA

Ms. Andrea REPETTI, Second Secretary, Permanent Mission, Geneva

BARBADOS

H.E. Mr. Erskine GRIFFITH, Ambassador, Permanent Representative, Geneva

Ms. Nicole CLARKE, Counsellor, Permanent Mission, Geneva

CROATIA

Mr. Claude GRBESA, Third Secretary, Permanent Mission, Geneva

CUBA

Mr. José Antonio FERNANDEZ, Second Secretary, Permanent Mission, Geneva

EGYPT

Mr. Sherif KAMEL, Second Secretary, Permanent Mission, Geneva Mr. Hossam HUSSEIN, Third Secretary, Permanent Mission, Geneva

FRANCE

Mr. François LEGER, First Secretary, Permanent Mission, Geneva

INDIA

Mrs. Homai SAHA, Minister (Economic Affairs), Permanent Mission, Geneva

ITALY

Mr. Arnaldo ABETI, First Counsellor, Permanent Mission, Geneva

KAZAKHSTAN

Mr. Muurat TASHIBAYEV, Counsellor, Permanent Mission, Geneva

MADAGASCAR

Mr. Phabien EDAFE, Counsellor, Permanent Mission, Geneva

MEXICO

Sr. Tomás DIAZ DIAZ, Segundo Secretario, Misión Permanente, Ginebra

NEPAL

H.E. Mr. Surendra Prasad CHAUDHARY, Minister of Science and Technology, Kathmandu

Mr. Punya Prasad NEUPANE, Joint Secretary, Ministry of Science and Technology, Kathmandu

SAUDI ARABIA

Mr. Sultan T. ALSEDAIRY, Executive Director, Research Centre, King Faisal Specialist Hospital and Research Centre

SOUTH AFRICA

Mr. Xolisa MABHONGO, First Secretary, Permanent Mission, Geneva

THE FORMER YUGOSLAV REPUBLIC OF MACEDONIA

Mr. Bojan CVETKOVIC, Attaché

UNITED REPUBLIC OF TANZANIA

H.E. Mr. Titus MTELEKA, Ministry of Science, Technology and Higher Education

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA

Ms. Lynette J. POULTON, Science Officer, Permanent Mission, Geneva

ZIMBABWE

Mr. S.T. MUKANDURI, Minister Counsellor, Permanent Mission, Geneva

INTERGOVERNMENTAL ORGANIZATIONS

ARAB LABOUR ORGANIZATION

H.E. Mr. Najid ABUGRARA, Permanent Representative, Permanent Mission, Geneva

ORGANIZATION OF THE ISLAMIC CONFERENCE

H.E. Mr. Tidiane HANE, Permanent Observer

SOUTH CENTRE

Mr. Branislav GOSOVIC, Temporary Head of the Secretariat

Mr. Rashid S. KAUKAB, Senior Consultant

SPECIALIZED AGENCIES AND RELATED ORGANIZATION

WORLD HEALTH ORGANIZATION

Dr. Nicole BIROS, Policy Analyst

Dr. André PROST, Director, External Relations

UNITED NATIONS INDUSTRIAL DEVELOPMENT ORGANIZATION

Ms. Elizabeth MERZ, Liaison Officer

* * * *

WORLD TRADE ORGANIZATION

Mr. Jayashree WATAL, Counsellor, Intellectual Property Division

UNITED NATIONS

ECONOMIC AND SOCIAL COMMSSION FOR ASIA AND THE PACIFIC

Mr. G.M. FEDEROV, Chief, Technology Section

ECONOMIC COMMISSION FOR AFRICA

Mr. Jacques HAMEL, Team Leader, Science and Technology, Food, Security and Sustainable Development Division

ECONOMIC AND SOCIAL COMMISSION FOR WESTERN ASIA

Mr. Ahmed FARAHAT, Chief, Sectoral Issues and policies Division

UNITED NATIONS ENVIRONMENT PROGRAMME

Ms. Marioko HARA, Junior Programme Office

OFFICE OF THE HIGH COMMISSIONER FOR HUMAN RIGHTS

Mr. Pierre SOB, Human Rights Project Leader

NON GOVERNMENTAL ORGANIZATIONS

General Category

ENGINEERS OF THE WORLD

Mr. Graham LAWRENCE

INTERNATIONAL CONFEDERATION OF FREE TRADE UNIONS

Ms. Marie-Thérèse BELLAMY