

Meeting of States Parties

Distr.: General 6 March 2009

Original: English

Special Meeting New York, 6 March 2009

Credentials of representatives to the Special Meeting of States Parties to the United Nations Convention on the Law of the Sea

Report of the Credentials Committee

Chairperson: Ms. Miriam Mac Intosh (Suriname)

1. On 13 June 2008, the Eighteenth Meeting of States Parties to the United Nations Convention on the Law of the Sea appointed, pursuant to rule 14 of the Rules of Procedure for Meetings of States Parties (SPLOS/2/Rev.4), a Credentials Committee consisting of the following nine States parties: Brazil, Greece, Indonesia, Mongolia, Morocco, New Zealand, Slovenia, South Africa and Suriname.

2. The Special Meeting of States Parties which was held on 6 March 2009 to elect a member of the International Tribunal for the Law of the Sea, to fill a vacancy that had occurred in the Tribunal following the demise of Judge Choon-Ho Park (Republic of Korea) on 12 November 2008, decided, for the purposes of conducting the business of the Special Meeting, to maintain the composition of the Credentials Committee as appointed by the eighteenth Meeting.

3. The Committee held its meeting on 6 March 2009 under the chairmanship of Miriam Mac Intosh (Suriname).

4. The Committee had before it a memorandum by the Secretariat, dated 6 March 2009, on the status of credentials of representatives participating in the Special Meeting. The Secretary of the Committee made a statement with regard to the inclusion in the memorandum of those credentials and communications received subsequent to the preparation of the memorandum.

5. As noted in paragraph 1 of the memorandum, as orally supplemented during the meeting, formal credentials issued by the Head of State or Government or by the Minister for Foreign Affairs or by a person authorized by either of them had been received by the Secretariat for the representatives of the following 92 States participating in the Special Meeting: Algeria, Angola, Argentina, Armenia, Australia, Bahamas, Bahrain, Bangladesh, Barbados, Belgium, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Botswana, Brunei Darussalam, Bulgaria, Burkina Faso, Chile, China,



Comoros, Cook Islands, Croatia, Cuba, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Djibouti, Dominica, Egypt, Estonia, France, Germany, Greece, Grenada, Guatemala, Guyana, Haiti, Hungary, Iceland, Indonesia, Iraq, Ireland, Italy, Jamaica, Japan, Jordan, Kiribati, Kuwait, Lao People's Democratic Republic, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Madagascar, Maldives, Malta, Mauritius, Mexico, Micronesia (Federated States of), Monaco, Mongolia, Montenegro, Morocco, Namibia, Netherlands, New Zealand, Niue, Norway, Oman, Panama, Paraguay, Philippines, Portugal, Republic of Korea, Russian Federation, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, Samoa, Saudi Arabia, Seychelles, Singapore, Slovakia, Slovenia, South Africa, Spain, Sri Lanka, Suriname, Sweden, the former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia, Togo, Tonga, Trinidad and Tobago, Tunisia, United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland, Uruguay and Vietnam.

6. As noted in paragraph 2 of the memorandum, as orally supplemented during the meeting, information concerning the appointment of representatives participating in the Special Meeting had been communicated by means of facsimile or in the form of letters or notes verbales from ministries, embassies, permanent missions to the United Nations or other government offices or authorities, or through local United Nations offices, by the following 64 States participating in the Special Meeting: Albania, Antigua and Barbuda, Austria, Belarus, Belize, Benin, Bolivia, Brazil, Cameroon, Canada, Cape Verde, Congo, Costa Rica, Côte d'Ivoire, Democratic Republic of the Congo, Equatorial Guinea, Fiji, Finland, Gabon, Gambia, Georgia, Ghana, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Honduras, India, Kenya, Lebanon, Lesotho, Liberia, Malaysia, Mali, Marshall Islands, Mauritania, Mozambique, Myanmar, Nauru, Nepal, Nicaragua, Nigeria, Pakistan, Palau, Papua New Guinea, Poland, Qatar, Republic of Moldova, Romania, Saint Kitts and Nevis, Saint Lucia, Sao Tome and Principe, Senegal, Serbia, Sierra Leone, Solomon Islands, Somalia, Sudan, Tuvalu, Uganda, Ukraine, United Republic of Tanzania, Vanuatu, Yemen, Zambia and Zimbabwe.

7. The Chairperson proposed that the Committee accept the credentials of all the representatives mentioned in the memorandum by the Secretariat, supplemented by the additional information provided by the Secretary during the meeting of the Committee, on the understanding that formal credentials of the representatives referred to in paragraph 2 of the Secretariat's memorandum would be communicated to the Secretariat as soon as possible. The following draft resolution was proposed by the Chairperson for adoption by the Committee:

"The Credentials Committee,

"Having examined the credentials of the representatives to the Special Meeting of States Parties to the United Nations Convention on the Law of the Sea referred to in paragraphs 1 and 2 of the memorandum by the Secretariat dated 6 March 2009, supplemented by the additional information provided by the Secretariat during the meeting of the Credentials Committee,

"Accepts the credentials of the representatives concerned."

8. The draft resolution was adopted by the Committee without a vote.

9. Subsequently, the Chairperson proposed that the Committee recommend to the Special Meeting of States Parties the adoption of a draft resolution (see para. 11). The proposal was adopted without a vote.

10. In the light of the foregoing, the present report is submitted to the Special Meeting.

Recommendation of the Credentials Committee

11. The Credentials Committee recommends to the Special Meeting of States Parties the adoption of the following draft resolution:

"Credentials of representatives to the Special Meeting of States Parties to the United Nations Convention on the Law of the Sea of 6 March 2009

"The Special Meeting of States Parties to the United Nations Convention on the Law of the Sea,

"Approves the report of the Credentials Committee."