2005 Review Conference of the Parties to the Treaty on the Non-Proliferation of Nuclear Weapons

26 May 2005

Original: English

New York, 2-27 May 2005

Credentials of representatives to the Conference

Final report of the Credentials Committee

1. Rule 3 of the rules of procedure of the 2005 Review Conference of the Parties to the Treaty on the Non-Proliferation of Nuclear Weapons provides:

"The Conference shall establish a Credentials Committee composed of the Chairman and two Vice-Chairmen elected in accordance with rule 5, and six members appointed by the Conference on the proposal of the President. The Committee shall examine the credentials of representatives and report to the Conference without delay."

2. In accordance with rule 5 of its rules of procedure, the Conference unanimously elected Mr. Philip Richard O. Owade (Kenya) as Chairman of the Credentials Committee and Mr. Ivan Piperkov (Bulgaria) and Ms. Deborah Panckhurst (New Zealand) as Vice-Chairmen of the Committee.

3. In accordance with rule 3 of the rules of procedure, the Conference, on the proposal of the President, appointed the following countries as members of the Credentials Committee: Croatia, Guyana, Kazakhstan, Malta, Serbia and Montenegro and Switzerland.

4. The Committee held its first and second meetings on 17 and 24 May 2005 to examine the credentials received as of those dates. The Committee had before it two memoranda of the Secretary-General of the Conference, dated 16 and 23 May, containing information on the status of the credentials of the representatives of the States parties attending the Conference. Pursuant to the request in rule 3 that the Committee report to the Conference, at the 20th plenary meeting, on 26 May, the Chairman, on behalf of the Committee, introduced an interim report of the Committee to the Conference (NPT/ CONF.2005/CC/L.1).

5. Also at its first meeting, the Committee noted the information relayed by the Secretary-General of the Conference and requested the Chairman to invite those States parties that had not done so to submit to the Secretary-General of the Conference the credentials of their representatives, in accordance with rule 2 of the rules of procedure. The request of the Committee was communicated by the Chairman to the States parties through a note (NPT/CONF.2005/INF.4).

05-38813 (E) 220605 * **0538813** * 6. At its third meeting, on 26 May, the Committee had before it a memorandum from the Secretary-General of the Conference, which gave updated information on the status of credentials of the representatives of States participating in the Conference.

7. Having examined the information contained in those memoranda, the Committee noted that as at 26 May:

(a) Formal credentials in due form, as provided for by rule 2 of the rules of procedure, had been received by the Secretary-General of the Conference for representatives from the following 90 States: Albania, Argentina, Australia, Austria, Bahamas, Bahrain, Bangladesh, Barbados, Belarus, Belgium, Bhutan, Bolivarian Republic of Venezuela, Bolivia, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Brazil, Bulgaria, Cambodia, Chile, China, Colombia, Croatia, Cuba, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Egypt, Estonia, France, Germany, Greece, Guyana, Holy See, Hungary, Iceland, Indonesia, Iran (Islamic Republic of), Iraq, Ireland, Italy, Jamaica, Japan, Jordan, Kazakhstan, Kuwait, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malaysia, Malta, Mauritania, Mexico, Monaco, Mongolia, Morocco, Myanmar, New Zealand, Nigeria, Norway, Oman, Panama, Paraguay, Philippines, Poland, Portugal, Qatar, Republic of Korea, Romania, Russian Federation, Samoa, Saudi Arabia, Serbia and Montenegro, Singapore, Slovakia, Slovenia, South Africa, Spain, Sri Lanka, Sweden, Switzerland, Syrian Arab Republic, Thailand, the former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia, Trinidad and Tobago, Tunisia, Turkey, United Arab Emirates, United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland, United Republic of Tanzania, United States of America and Uzbekistan.

(b) Provisional credentials of the representatives of the following 32 States parties had been communicated to the Secretary-General of the Conference in the form of telefax or copy from their Heads of State or Government or from Foreign Ministers: Algeria, Andorra, Armenia, Azerbaijan, Benin, Canada, Central African Republic, Costa Rica, Dominican Republic, Ecuador, Finland, Georgia, Ghana, Guatemala, Kenya, Kyrgyzstan, Latvia, Maldives, Marshall Islands, Namibia, Nauru, Nepal, Netherlands, Nicaragua, Palau, Peru, Republic of Moldova, Senegal, Sierra Leone, Togo, Turkmenistan and Viet Nam.

(c) The designation of representatives of the following 28 States parties had been communicated to the Secretary-General of the Conference by notes verbales or letters from their Permanent Missions in New York: Afghanistan, Botswana, Burkina Faso, Cameroon, Comoros, Congo, El Salvador, Eritrea, Gabon, Guinea, Lao People's Democratic Republic, Lebanon, Lesotho, Liberia, Libyan Arab Jamahiriya, Mauritius, Mozambique, Niger, Saint Lucia, San Marino, Suriname, Tajikistan, Timor-Leste, Tonga, Uganda, Ukraine, Yemen and Zimbabwe.

8. On the proposal of the Chairman, the Committee agreed to accept the credentials of all participating States parties referred to in paragraph 7 (a), (b) and (c) on the understanding that the originals of the credentials of the representatives of those States referred to in paragraph 7 (b) and (c) would be submitted as soon as possible, in accordance with the terms of rule 2 of the rules of procedure.

9. At its third meeting, the Committee unanimously adopted its report of the Conference.