United Nations E/2011/9/Add.9



Economic and Social Council

Distr.: General 16 February 2011

Original: English

Resumed organizational session for 2011

27 and 28 April 2011 Agenda item 4

Elections, nominations, confirmations and appointments

Election of 19 members of the Governing Council of the United Nations Human Settlements Programme

Note by the Secretary-General

- 1. Pursuant to General Assembly resolution 56/206, the Economic and Social Council is to elect, at its resumed organizational session for 2011, 19 members of the Governing Council of the United Nations Human Settlements Programme for a four-year term beginning on 1 January 2012 to fill the vacancies that will occur on 31 December 2011 upon the expiration of the terms of the following members: Bahrain, Brazil, Burkina Faso, Congo, Germany, Honduras, India, Iraq, Israel, Jamaica, Kenya, Romania, Saudi Arabia, Serbia, Sri Lanka, Swaziland and Zambia.
- 2. In accordance with paragraph 4 of section I.A of General Assembly resolution 56/206, the 19 members are to be elected according to the following pattern:
 - (a) Five seats for African States;
 - (b) Five seats for Asian States;
 - (c) Two seats for Eastern European States;
 - (d) Three seats for Latin American and Caribbean States;
 - (e) Four seats for Western European and other States.
- 3. The membership of the Governing Council in 2011 is listed in the annex to the present note.





Annex

Governing Council of the United Nations Human Settlements Programme

(58 members; four-year term)

Membership in 2011

Sixteen members from African States

Algeria (2014), Burkina Faso* (2011), Central African Republic (2014), Congo* (2011), Côte d'Ivoire (2012), Ethiopia (2012), Gabon (2014), Kenya* (2011), Mali (2014), Mozambique (2014), Nigeria (2014), Rwanda (2012), Sudan (2012), Swaziland* (2011), Tunisia (2012), Zambia* (2011)

Thirteen members from Asian States

Afghanistan (2012), Bahrain* (2011), Bangladesh (2012), China (2012), India* (2011), Indonesia (2014), Iran (Islamic Republic of) (2014), Iraq* (2011), Japan (2014), Pakistan (2014), Republic of Korea (2012), Saudi Arabia* (2011), Sri Lanka* (2011)

Six members from Eastern European States

Albania (2014), Armenia (2012), Czech Republic (2012), Romania* (2011), Russian Federation (2014), Serbia* (2011)

Ten members from Latin American and Caribbean States

Antigua and Barbuda (2012), Argentina (2014), Brazil* (2011), Chile (2014), Cuba (2012), Grenada (2014), Guatemala (2012), Honduras* (2011), Jamaica* (2011), Venezuela (Bolivarian Republic of) (2014)

Thirteen members from Western European and other States^a

Finland (2014), France (2012), Germany* (2011), Israel* (2011), Norway (2012), Spain (2012), Turkey (2014), United States of America (2014)

2 11-23966

^{*} Retiring member.

^a There are five vacancies in this group: two for members whose term would begin on the date of election and expire on 31 December 2011, two for members whose term would begin on the date of election and expire on 31 December 2012 and one for a member whose term would begin on the date of election and expire on 31 December 2014 (see Council decision 2011/201 A).