United Nations E/2011/9/Add.3



# **Economic and Social Council**

Distr.: General 15 February 2011

Original: English

Resumed organizational session for 2011

27 and 28 April 2011 Agenda item 4

Elections, nominations, confirmations and appointments

# **Election of 11 members of the Executive Board of the United Nations Children's Fund**

## **Note by the Secretary-General**

- 1. The Executive Board of the United Nations Children's Fund has 36 members, elected with due regard to equitable geographical representation and other relevant factors, with a view to ensuring the most effective and broadest representation.
- 2. In accordance with General Assembly resolution 48/162, the Council is to elect, at its resumed organizational session for 2011, 11 members of the Executive Board from among States Members of the United Nations or members of the specialized agencies or of the International Atomic Energy Agency, for a three-year term beginning on 1 January 2012, to fill the vacancies that will occur on 31 December 2011 upon the expiration of the terms of the following members: Bangladesh, Belgium, Cuba, Japan, Liberia, Republic of Korea, Slovenia, Spain, Sudan, United States of America and Uruguay.
- 3. The 11 members will be elected on the following basis:
  - (a) Two members from African States;
  - (b) Two members from Asian States;
  - (c) One member from Eastern European States;
  - (d) Two members from Latin American and Caribbean States;
  - (e) Four members from Western European and other States.
- 4. The membership of the Executive Board in 2011 is listed in the annex to the present note.





# Annex

# Executive Board of the United Nations Children's Fund (36 members; three-year term)

#### Membership in 2011

### **Eight members from African States**

Cape Verde (2012), Congo (2012), Liberia\* (2011), Malawi (2012), Namibia (2013), Somalia (2012), Sudan\* (2011), Tunisia (2012)

#### **Seven members from Asian States**

Bangladesh\* (2011), China (2013), Indonesia (2013), Kazakhstan (2012), Pakistan (2012), Qatar (2012), Republic of Korea\* (2011)

#### Four members from Eastern European States

Belarus (2012), Estonia (2013), Russian Federation (2013), Slovenia\* (2011)

#### Five members from Latin American and Caribbean States

Antigua and Barbuda (2013), Colombia (2013), Cuba\* (2011), El Salvador (2012), Uruguay\* (2011)

### Twelve members from Western European and other States

Belgium\* (2011), Denmark (2012), France (2012), Germany (2012), Italy (2013), Japan\* (2011), Netherlands (2013), New Zealand (2013), Spain\* (2011), Sweden (2012), United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland (2013), United States of America\* (2011)

11-23468

<sup>\*</sup> Retiring member.