United Nations E/2011/9/Add.2



Economic and Social Council

Distr.: General 16 February 2011

Original: English

Resumed organizational session for 2011

27 and 28 April 2011 Agenda item 4

Elections, nominations, confirmations and appointments

Election of 21 members of the Intergovernmental Working Group of Experts on International Standards of Accounting and Reporting

Note by the Secretary-General

- 1. Pursuant to Economic and Social Council resolutions 1982/67 and 1985/71, the Council is to elect, at its resumed organizational session for 2011, 21 members of the Intergovernmental Working Group of Experts on International Standards of Accounting and Reporting for a three-year term beginning on 1 January 2012 to fill the vacancies that will occur on 31 December 2011 upon the expiration of the terms of the following members: Botswana, China, Eritrea, France, Germany, Kyrgyzstan, Malta, Namibia, Niger, Portugal, Russian Federation, South Africa, Sri Lanka and Sweden. In addition, there are three vacant seats for Latin American and Caribbean States and four vacant seats for Western European and other States, for members whose terms will expire on 31 December 2011.
- 2. The members are to be elected according to the following pattern:

Five members from African States:

Three members from Asian States;

One member from Eastern European States;

Three members from Latin American and Caribbean States;

Nine members from Western European and other States.

3. The membership of the Working Group in 2011 is given in the annex to the present note.





Annex

Intergovernmental Working Group of Experts on International Standards of Accounting and Reporting (34 members; three-year term)

Membership in 2011

Nine members from African States

Benin (2012), Botswana* (2011), Cameroon (2012), Egypt (2012), Eritrea* (2011), Namibia* (2011), Niger* (2011), South Africa* (2011), United Republic of Tanzania (2012)

Seven members from Asian States^a

China* (2011), Kyrgyzstan* (2011), Sri Lanka* (2011)

Three members from Eastern European States

Croatia (2012), Poland (2012), Russian Federation* (2011)

Six members from Latin American and Caribbean States^b

Brazil (2012), Saint Kitts and Nevis (2012)

Nine members from Western European and other States^c

France* (2011), Germany* (2011), Malta* (2011), Portugal* (2011), Sweden* (2011)

* Retiring member.

11-23948

^a There are four vacancies in this group for members whose terms would begin on the date of election and expire on 31 December 2012.

^b There are four vacancies in this group: three for members whose terms would begin on the date of election and expire on 31 December 2011 and one for a member whose terms would begin on the date of election and expire on 31 December 2012.

^c There are four vacancies in this group for members whose terms would begin on the date of election and expire on 31 December 2011.