

Distr.: General 11 November 2005

Original: English

Sixtieth session Agenda item 113 (a)

Appointments to fill vacancies in subsidiary organs and other appointments: appointment of members of the Advisory Committee on Administrative and Budgetary Questions

Report of the Fifth Committee

Rapporteur: Mrs. Katja Pehrman (Finland)

1. At its 17th plenary meeting, on 20 September 2005, the General Assembly, on the recommendation of the General Committee, decided to include in the agenda of its sixtieth session the item entitled "Appointments to fill vacancies in subsidiary organs and other appointments: appointment of members of the Advisory Committee on Administrative and Budgetary Questions".

2. At its 20th meeting, on 3 November, the Fifth Committee had before it the following documents:

(a) Note by the Secretary-General concerning the vacancies in the membership of the Advisory Committee on Administrative and Budgetary Questions that would occur as a result of the expiration of the term of office of five of its members on 31 December 2005 (A/60/101);

(b) Note by the Secretary-General containing the names of five persons nominated by their respective Governments for appointment or reappointment to the Advisory Committee on Administrative and Budgetary Questions for a three-year term of office beginning on 1 January 2006 (A/C.5/60/4).

3. At the same meeting, the Committee decided, by acclamation, to recommend to the General Assembly that it appoint Guillermo Kendall (Argentina), Igor V. Khalevinski (Russian Federation), Susan M. McLurg (United States of America), Tommo Monthe (Cameroon) and Christina Vasak (France) as members of the Advisory Committee for a three-year term of office beginning on 1 January 2006 (see para. 4).

05-60024 (E) 141105 *** 0560024 ***

Recommendation of the Fifth Committee

4. The Fifth Committee recommends that the General Assembly appoint the following persons as members of the Advisory Committee on Administrative and Budgetary Questions for a three-year term of office beginning on 1 January 2006:

Guillermo Kendall (Argentina) Igor V. Khalevinski (Russian Federation) Susan M. McLurg (United States of America) Tommo Monthe (Cameroon) Christina Vasak (France)