



MEETING OF STATES PARTIES

Distr. GENERAL

SPLOS/32 4 March 1999

ORIGINAL: ENGLISH

MEETING OF STATES PARTIES Ninth Meeting New York, 19-28 May 1999

ELECTION OF THE MEMBERS OF THE INTERNATIONAL TRIBUNAL FOR THE LAW OF THE SEA

List of candidates submitted by Governments of States Parties

Note by the Registrar of the International Tribunal for the Law of the Sea

1. Article 4 of the Statute of the International Tribunal for the Law of the Sea, Annex VI to the United Nations Convention on the Law of the Sea, requires that the members of the Tribunal shall be elected at a meeting of States Parties from a list of persons nominated by the States Parties to the Convention.

2. The eighth Meeting of States Parties decided that the election of seven members of the International Tribunal for the Law of the Sea would be held on 24 May 1999 (SPLOS/31, para. 71).

3. In accordance with the provisions of article 4 and other relevant provisions of the Statute of the Convention and the decision of the Meeting of States Parties, the Registrar, in a note verbale dated 24 November 1998, invited Governments to submit the names of the candidates they might wish to nominate to the Tribunal, bearing in mind the decisions taken by the Meeting of States Parties on the matter.

4. Article 4, paragraph 2, of the Statute provides that the Registrar shall prepare a list in alphabetical order of all the persons thus nominated, with an indication of the States Parties which have nominated them. Pursuant to article 4 of the Statute, the nominations submitted by States Parties to the Registrar in reply to his request are set out in the annex to the present note.

5. The curricula vitae of the candidates will be circulated in document SPLOS/33.

ANNEX

List of candidates

Name and nationality	Nominated by
Akl, Joseph (Lebanon)	Lebanon
Bameia Engo, Paul (Cameroon)	Cameroon
Chandrasekhara Rao, P. (India)	India
Djalal, Hasjim (Indonesia)	Indonesia
Ilešič, Marko (Slovenia)	Slovenia
Jesus, José Luis (Cape Verde)	Cape Verde
Kolodkin, Anatoly Lazarevich (Russian Federation)	Russian Federation
Marotta Rangel, Vicente (Brazil)	Brazil
Warioba, Joseph Sinde (United Republic of Tanzania)	United Republic of Tanzania
Wolfrum, Rüdiger (Germany)	Germany
