

# **Meeting of States Parties**

Distr.: General 15 March 2011

Original: English

**Twenty-first Meeting** New York, 13-17 June 2011

### Election of seven members of the International Tribunal for the Law of the Sea

### List of candidates nominated by States Parties

#### Note by the Registrar of the International Tribunal for the Law of the Sea

1. Article 4 of the Statute of the International Tribunal for the Law of the Sea provides that the members of the Tribunal shall be elected at a meeting of States Parties from a list of persons nominated by the States Parties to the Convention.

2. The election to fill the positions of seven members of the Tribunal whose terms of office expire on 30 September 2011 will be held at the twenty-first Meeting of States Parties, which will take place from 13 to 17 June 2011 in New York.

3. Paragraph 2 of article 4 of the Statute of the Tribunal provides that, at least three months before the date of the election, the Registrar shall address a written invitation to the States Parties to submit their nominations for members of the Tribunal within two months. He shall prepare a list in alphabetical order of all the persons thus nominated, with an indication of the States Parties which have nominated them, and shall submit it to the States Parties before the seventh day of the last month before the date of each election.

4. The Registrar, in a note verbale dated 15 December 2010, invited Governments of States Parties to submit within a period of two months ending on 9 March 2011 the names of the candidates they might wish to nominate for election to the Tribunal.

5. The list of all the persons thus nominated, prepared by the Registrar pursuant to article 4, paragraph 2, of the Statute of the Tribunal, is set out in the annex to the present note.

6. The curricula vitae of the candidates will be circulated in document SPLOS/221.





### Annex

## List of candidates for the election of seven members of the International Tribunal for the Law of the Sea

Name and nationality	Nominated by
ATTARD, David Joseph (Malta)	Malta
AYENSU, Kathleen Quartey (Ghana)	Ghana
BULA-BULA, Sayeman (Democratic Republic of the Congo)	Democratic Republic of the Congo
COT, Jean-Pierre (France)	France
GAO, Zhiguo (China)	China
KELLY, Elsa (Argentina)	Argentina
KULYK, Markiyan Z. (Ukraine)	Ukraine
LOKOSSA, Francis (Benin)	Benin
LUCKY, Anthony Amos (Trinidad and Tobago)	Trinidad and Tobago
NDIAYE, Tafsir Malick (Senegal)	Senegal