

Meeting of States Parties

Distr.: General 21 March 2005

Original: English

Fifteenth meeting

New York, 16-24 June 2005

Election of seven members of the International Tribunal for the Law of the Sea

List of candidates nominated by States parties

Note by the Registrar of the International Tribunal for the Law of the Sea

- 1. Article 4 of the Statute of the International Tribunal for the Law of the Sea provides that the members of the Tribunal shall be elected at a Meeting of States Parties from a list of persons nominated by the States parties to the Convention.
- 2. Pursuant to the decision adopted at the fourteenth Meeting of States Parties (SPLOS/119, para. 103 (g)), the election to fill the positions of seven members of the Tribunal whose terms of office expire on 30 September 2005 will be held at the fifteenth Meeting of States Parties, which will take place from 16 to 24 June 2005 in New York.
- 3. In accordance with article 4, paragraph 2, of the Statute of the Tribunal, at least three months before the date of the election the Registrar shall address a written invitation to the States parties to submit their nominations for members of the Tribunal within two months. He shall prepare a list in alphabetical order of all the persons thus nominated, with an indication of the States parties which have nominated them, and shall submit it to the States parties before the seventh day of the last month before the date of each election.
- 4. The Registrar, in a note verbale dated 12 January 2005, invited Governments of States parties to submit within a period of two months ending on 11 March 2005 the names of the candidates they might wish to nominate for election to the Tribunal.
- 5. The list of all the persons thus nominated, prepared by the Registrar pursuant to article 4, paragraph 2, of the Statute of the Tribunal, is set out in the annex to the present note.
- 6. The curricula vitae of the candidates will be circulated in document SPLOS/125.

Annex

List of candidates for the election of seven members of the International Tribunal for the Law of the Sea

Name and nationality Nominated by

Al-Sameen, Mohammed Bin Abdullah Bin Salem

(Oman)

Oman

Anderson, David Heywood (United Kingdom of

Great Britain and Northern Ireland)

United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland

Bouguetaia, Boualem (Algeria) Algeria

Dipla, Haritini (Greece) Greece

Hmoud, Mohammed Alhaj (Iraq) Iraq

Hoffmann, Albertus Jacobus (South Africa) South Africa

Kateka, James L. (United Republic of Tanzania) United Republic of Tanzania

Keita, Raphaël Théophile (Mali) Mali

Marsit, Mohamed Mouldi (Tunisia) Tunisia
Nelson, L. Dolliver M. (Grenada) Grenada

Park, Choon-Ho (Republic of Korea) Republic of Korea

Pawlak, Stanislaw (Poland) Poland

Tuerk, Helmut (Austria) Austria, Croatia, Spain, Uganda

Vukas, Budislav (Croatia) Croatia

Yanai, Shunji (Japan) Djibouti, Fiji, Japan, Palau,

Paraguay, Samoa

2