UNITED NATIONS



Economic and Social Council

Distr. GENERAL

E/CN.4/2006/13 15 February 2006

Original: ENGLISH

COMMISSION ON HUMAN RIGHTS Sixty-second session Item 6 of the provisional agenda

RACISM, RACIAL DISCRIMINATION, XENOPHOBIA AND ALL FORMS OF DISCRIMINATION

Note by the Secretariat

Efforts by the Office of the United Nations High Commissioner for Human Rights for universal ratification of the International Convention on the Elimination of All Forms of Racial Discrimination

The present note is submitted in accordance with paragraph 10 of resolution 2005/64, adopted by the Commission on Human Rights at its sixty-first session on 20 April 2005, in which the Office of the United Nations High Commissioner for Human Rights was requested to publish a list of countries that have not yet ratified the International Convention on the Elimination of All Forms of Racial Discrimination (ICERD), to initiate a reinvigorated campaign for universal ratification of the Convention at the earliest, and to submit a report on its efforts in this regard to the Commission at its sixty-second session.

The request of the Commission in the above-mentioned resolution follows a recommendation made by the Independent Eminent Experts on the implementation of the Durban Declaration and Programme of Action. At its second meeting, held in Geneva from 21 to 23 February 2005, the group of Independent Eminent Experts urged "States that have not yet done so to ratify the International Convention on the Elimination of All Forms of Racial Discrimination before the end of 2005" (E/CN.4/2005/125 and Corr.1, para. 51).

Furthermore, confirming the importance of mobilizing political support for the universal ratification of the International Convention on the Elimination of All Forms of Racial Discrimination, the Independent Eminent Experts agreed that they could play a role by calling for the universal ratification of the Convention by the end of 2005. In that context, the experts decided to send joint letters of appeal to the Governments of States that had not yet ratified the Convention (ibid., para. 13).

As at 30 January 2006, 24 States have yet to become parties to the Convention:

The six following States have signed but not yet ratified the Convention: Andorra (5 August 2002), Bhutan (26 March 1973), Grenada (17 December 1981), Guinea Bissau (12 September 2000), Nauru (12 November 2001) and Sao Tome and Principe (6 September 2000).

The 18 following States have neither signed nor ratified the Convention: Angola, Brunei Darussalam, Cook Islands, Democratic People's Republic of Korea, Djibouti, Dominica, Kiribati, Malaysia, Marshall Islands, Federated States of Micronesia, Myanmar, Niue, Palau, Saint Kitts and Nevis, Samoa, Singapore, Tuvalu and Vanuatu.

Taking into account both the request of the Commission and the decision of the Independent Eminent Experts, the Office of the High Commissioner undertook to prepare draft letters to be addressed to the Governments of the above-mentioned countries. These letters were to be co-signed by the group of Independent Eminent Experts at their 3rd meeting scheduled to take place in December 2005.

Owing to the inability of the group of Independent Eminent Experts to meet before the sixty-second session of the Commission on Human Rights and to send the letters as originally planned, notes verbales were sent by the Office of the High Commissioner for Human Rights on 1 February 2006 to the 24 above-mentioned States, encouraging them to become parties to the Convention. In addition, the list of these States was made public on the Treaty Body database to be found in the website of the Office of the High Commissioner for Human Rights at the following address: http://www.unhchr.ch/tbs/doc.nsf/Statusfrset.
